1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer freezes randomly

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by cadguy01, Mar 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cadguy01

    cadguy01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    My computer has ran fine but lately freezes for no apparent reason. It is becoming more frequent. Hangs atleast once every time I use it. It doesn't seem to be related to anything I'm running. When it freezes the mouse will move but can't do anything else including cntrl-alt-del. I get no error messages or noticeable warnings. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,773
    Hi and welcome to TSG.
    Check Event Viewer.
    Start>control panel>admin tools>performance and maintenance>event viewer.
    Expand system tab..check for errors and warnings.
    Let us know what you find.
     
  3. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366
    Also, tell us what AV / or firewall software you are running.
     
  4. 1101doc

    1101doc

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Sounds like something is maxing out your CPU. Sysinternals free Process Explorer will help find it: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/ProcessesAndThreads/ProcessExplorer.mspx (Download link at bottom of page) As you configure Process Explorer, under View>Select Columns, choose as one of your options "CPU Time." Then a click on the header for that column will sort the processes according to how much time they have accessed the CPU. Your culprit should be near the top. (Ignore "System Idle." That is just what is left over after everything else is counted. It should be high.)
    For more about controlling background and startup processes see my post: http://doc1101.vox.com/
     
  5. cadguy01

    cadguy01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    There are about 9 errors in the time frame when it froze yesterday.
    3 DCOM and 5 Service Control Manager errors. (listed below)
    I am running F-Secure Antivirus.
    Thanks so much for the responses. (y)


    DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service StiSvc with arguments "" in order to run the server:
    {A1F4E726-8CF1-11D1-BF92-0060081ED811}

    DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service EventSystem with arguments "" in order to run the server:
    {1BE1F766-5536-11D1-B726-00C04FB926AF}

    he DHCP Client service depends on the NetBios over Tcpip service which failed to start because of the following error:
    A device attached to the system is not functioning.

    The DNS Client service depends on the TCP/IP Protocol Driver service which failed to start because of the following error:
    A device attached to the system is not functioning.

    The TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service depends on the AFD Networking Support Environment service which failed to start because of the following error:
    A device attached to the system is not functioning.

    The IPSEC Services service depends on the IPSEC driver service which failed to start because of the following error:
    A device attached to the system is not functioning.

    The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
    AFD
    bsofrwl
    Fips
    intelppm
    IPSec
    MRxSmb
    NetBIOS
    NetBT
    RasAcd
    Rdbss
    Tcpip
    WS2IFSL

    DCOM got error "This service cannot be started in Safe Mode " attempting to start the service EventSystem with arguments "" in order to run the server:
    {1BE1F766-5536-11D1-B726-00C04FB926AF}
     
  6. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366
    I think the log from the Event Viewer is ok...they *seem* to be all internet related -
    and these usually dont start in Safe Mode anyway....

    Process Explorer will tell us a lot more. Did you run that?
     
  7. cadguy01

    cadguy01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Loaded Process explorer on Saturday. Since then everything appeared fine with no cpu hogs.
    Today I left the computer for about 30min. When I came back everything was slugish and openvpn.exe was using 50% of the cpu. Within a minute or 2 everything froze including Process Explorer. I waited 5 minutes or so then turned the computer off and back on.
    Attached a screen shot of Process Explorer.
    Thanks again.
     
  8. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366
    If you go to Add/Remove programs is OpenVPN listed?
     
  9. cadguy01

    cadguy01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Yes "OpenVPN 2.0-gui" is listed.
     
  10. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366
    Remove it !
     
  11. cadguy01

    cadguy01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Don't I need it to work remotely from home?
     
  12. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366
    well it would appear this is the root of the problem! can you find an alternative piece of software or maybe just download it again?
     
  13. cadguy01

    cadguy01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    I can remove and reload it.
     
  14. rodeognome

    rodeognome

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,366
    yes - anything - just get to the root of this problem!

    Once you have removed it - then see will your computer randomly freeze?
     
  15. cadguy01

    cadguy01 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Its removed. I'll monitor Process Explorer and report back any issues.
    Thanks again for your help.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Computer freezes randomly
  1. Buffalo19
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    502
  2. Marcella253
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    567
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/548474

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice