1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer freezes seconds into log in but works fine in safe mode

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by syncript, Nov 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. syncript

    syncript Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Help!!! my computer freezes seconds into logging into an account i am currently posting this in safe mode anyone able to help please!!!
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    To help us help you,please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread. You can then update your Computer Specs with this info.
     
  3. syncript

    syncript Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5300 @ 2.60GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 766 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7050 / NVIDIA nForce 620i, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 147756 MB, Free - 63722 MB; D: Total - 147492 MB, Free - 130557 MB;
    Motherboard: ACER, MCP73VE
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  4. syncript

    syncript Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Any help is appreciated the more help the better thank you i need to fix my computer fast >.<
     
  5. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    Have you cleaned out the computer recently or rather, checked it for dust build up? If not you might want to do this, Use a can of compressed air and be sure to unplug it and ground your self by touching the frame of the case. Anything you can tell us prior to this happening? When is the last time it was running properly? Have you checked your hard drive for errors recently?
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Check-your-hard-disk-for-errors
     
  6. syncript

    syncript Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    i thought it might have been that problem so i recently opened the casing and cleaned the dust buts it still doesnt work
     
  7. syncript

    syncript Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    the last time it was working was around last wednesday and though i scan it for errors it said no errors found how now? i have read other forums and people said to use some sort of option during start up called last known good option or some sort does this work for vistas?
     
  8. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    Have you tried doing a System Restore to a date prior to this taking place? Also, is there anything you downloaded or anything you can think of that took place prior to this acting up?
     
  9. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,515
    In addition to the above.
    System Restore in Windows Vista:
    http://bertk.mvps.org/html/restoresysv.html

    Or you can Tap F8 as your Pc is starting up.
    Choose Safe Mode with Command Prompt.

    You may be prompted for the appropriate operating system.
    Use the arrow keys to select - then press Enter.
    You may also need to log on as Administrator.

    At the command prompt window - Type.
    rstrui.exe

    Press Enter.
    Choose a date prior to your problem.
    ---------
    Then click Start - in the search box.
    Type
    msconfig
    Click on the Start Up Tab.

    Write down carefully what is listed and post the list here.
    Or post a screenshot
    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    How to use MSCONFIG
    http://netsquirrel.com/msconfig/msconfig_vista.html
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1075246

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice