1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer freezes to the point of restart regularly - broke?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by sasaki, Nov 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sasaki

    sasaki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Helllloo,
    I am not sure which forum to post this under as I am not sure whether this is a hardware or software problem, but since I think it is related to Windows 10 I will post it here for the time being (sorry if this is totally unrelated to windows 10).

    So hey.
    I've had my computer for about a year. I am really into gaming so I use it nearly every day for long periods of time. I installed windows 10 in August: no problems.
    Last week my computer randomly started freezing about every 1 hour and half to the point where I can only restart. It has done this continuously since last week. Other than this the computer has no problems and can still run games well. However, in gaming sessions this can be quite the problem.
    I've looked at a lot of other forums of people who had a similar problem to this and none of their solutions seem to work.
    Does anyone know what is broke / malfunctioning and what I can do to help it?
    Thanks :)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
  3. sasaki

    sasaki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Thank you for your reply. However, there seemed to be an error when I tried system restore.
    "System restore did not complete successfully. Your computer's files and setting's were not changed.
    Details:
    System Restore failed to extract the file (C:\ .......... ) from the restore point.
    An unspecified error occurred during System Restore. (0x80070017)"
    I attempted system restore twice, and the only options left are after I started experiencing this problem.
    Do you have any more advice?
    Thank you
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. sasaki

    sasaki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I did this only to have this message appear
    "Window Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them. Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. Note that logging is currently not supported in offline servicing sceanarios."
    Should I re-install? If so could you tell me how to do so?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may need to re-install
    However, the link i posted also explained how to read the log file
    can you post the extract sfcdetails.txt
     
  7. sasaki

    sasaki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    could you tell me how to view sfcdetails.txt ?
    (I'm sorry if this is a stupid question)
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    As described in the link i posted
     
  9. sasaki

    sasaki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    I followed these instructions but command prompt just printed "C:\WINDOWS\system32>" again
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes, the log should be on the desktop called
    sfcdetails.txt
     
  11. sasaki

    sasaki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    okay thanks, I found it
    its very long and I don't think I can post it all: what exactly should I be looking for?
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,879
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you attach it
    upload a file - button
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1161320

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice