1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer freezes up

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by tschetter, Jan 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tschetter

    tschetter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    when i play a game it freezes up like age of empires or when i move stuff from external hard drive it shuts off and a blue screen comes on it say something about memory dump and then it counts to 100 and shuts off
     
  2. RaytheBear

    RaytheBear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    More information is needed i.e.:
    When did this problem start to happen?
    How much RAM do you have?
    What type of video card do you have
    CPU specs.
    What type of AV or Security Software do you have?
    Etc..
     
  3. tschetter

    tschetter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    i got this computer from another guy he said he had no problem with it
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+, x64 Family 15 Model 107 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2429 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 295287 MB, Free - 216740 MB; D: Total - 9954 MB, Free - 9876 MB;
    Motherboard: ELITEGROUP, MCP61PM-AM, 1.0 ,
    Antivirus: Spyware Doctor with AntiVirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  4. RaytheBear

    RaytheBear

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Just 2 last comments from me on this subject:
    Online games depend I believe on your Internet connection quality and speed.

    I would strongly recommend that your Upgrade your Vista SP1 to Vista SP2, it has a Lot of Improvements which might help you.

    Good luck
    Ray
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you post a few of your latest minidump files? They are located in C:\WINDOWS\Minidump. ZIP them and attach them to your next post.

    Right-click the minidump file, select Send To, then select Compressed (zipped) Folder.

    Windows will compress (zip) the file and save the new zipped file in the same location.

    If you get an Access Denied error, disable the UAC.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977742

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice