1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer freezes when I burn a DVD

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by thatonedood, Jul 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thatonedood

    thatonedood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    When I setup NERO to burn a DVD, the computer freezes a few minutes in.

    I was running fine, burning with no problems for a couple years, then about two weeks ago it started. I couldn't figure it out, so I decided to format my hard drive and start over from fresh from factory settings.

    I reinstalled everything, and it's still doing it.

    Please help
    (I just got a DVD player installed in my car, and now can't burn DVDs, very frustrating)
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Look in your Task Manager. Is something using a lot of CPU? Burners often run at high priority. If something else is making demands on the CPU, it can lock up easily.
     
  3. nessyguin

    nessyguin

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Also update the firmware for your DVD writer , though I'd be more inclined to borrow/buy a different DVD drive if there's nothing untoward in Task Manager/ CPU usage .
     
  4. thatonedood

    thatonedood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks for the reply Elvandil,
    I've even tried closing every program and I have nothing else running, and it still freezes.
    I don't mean NERO freezes, I mean the whole PC freezes, and I have to do a hard shutdown.
     
  5. thatonedood

    thatonedood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Hey nessy...
    How do you update the firmware on my DVD writer?
    I've thought about buying an external drive and trying it...
     
  6. thatonedood

    thatonedood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Hey guys,
    I just closed everything running, and opened NERO and tried burning a DVD with the Task Manager open, and my CPU usage went from 2%-5% up to 100% when NERO started, with NERO causing it all. I then closed everything again, and opened up dvdSanta, another DVD burning program, which before never gave me any problems, and it did the same thing, from nothing up to 100%.
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Is there a new burning program installed? It may be a driver conflict between programs. Which is new?
     
  8. nessyguin

    nessyguin

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    If the drive was preinstalled on a PC (i.e. the system was assembled and you bought it as such) then you would go to the computer manufacturer's website and check their support pages for driver downloads . If you bought and installed the drive yourself you would go to the drive manufacturer's website and look for firmware updates in their support section .

    Preinstalled machines need OEM software e.g. a Dell PC will need Dell updated drivers even if your DVD drive is Samsung/Sony or whoever . Custom builds and end user enhancements generally require the hardware manufacturer's software . They are not really interchangeable .

    I do think the external (or a new internal) writer is worth a try - I'd suspect your current drive has failed .
     
  9. thatonedood

    thatonedood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Neither is new, I had them both running together for years with no problems...I think I was affected when I downloaded some dumb registry fix program that scanned for problems, found some, and "fixed" them. It actually just made my computer slower and messed up my iTunes. But like I said, I restored back to factory settings, and reinstalled all my programs I use, which I had been using for years with no problems.
     
  10. thatonedood

    thatonedood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Hey nessy, thanks, I'll try that tonight (it was installed by the factory, I bought the PC new with the DVD writer installed already)

    Well the thing is, I can still burn cds, and I even burned a data dvd, and a short music video dvd to try in my car. It's like it only messes up when it's a long burn, but then again, the dvd data disk (4 gigs of MP3s to play in my car) and that took a little while. So it's like it only messes up when I try to burn a long movie file. (I have tried several movies, all freeze)
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    No drivers are needed or should be installed for DVD drives. The OS supports them natively and none will be available unless it is a SATA. Is the drive listed as one that is supported by both programs?

    What about other programs that load drivers for that drive, like UltraIso, DVDInfo Pro, Daemon Tools, etc. All those drivers load whether the program is used or not.

    Did you try Nero before anything else was installed?
     
  12. nessyguin

    nessyguin

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    OK , starting to look like a codec issue as you can burn CDs and more tellingly ( is that a word ?) data DVDs . Download and instal K-Lite's Codec Pack and see if that makes a difference http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_lite_codec_pack.htm . You can pretty much go with the default settings for the instal though I generally deselect installing WMP Classic - only a preference , not a tech issue .
     
  13. nessyguin

    nessyguin

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Elvandil , my reference to OEM drivers was a general statement and given that the OP has reinstalled XP it's a good port of call in any case . I wasnt suggesting the OP needed a driver for their DVD drive but a firmware update would most likely be found in the Support/Drivers and Downloads section of any manufacturer's site .
     
  14. thatonedood

    thatonedood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Good thinkin' with the codec files nes...
    I just installed them, and, same thing, it started, 20min. in my computer froze.

    Elv, I have Daemon Tools, works fine, I don't really know what you mean about it though.

    BTW sorry it took me awhile to get back to yall, I had family in town yesterday, and actually I'm leaving for a trip to Orlando in about an hour for the weekend, so I won't get back till Sunday.

    Thanks guys
     
  15. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
    It has to be the drive. They just don't last that long so I would replace it.
    I mean we don't know any of the hardware or even the OS here so as for age of components well again 2 years for a heavily used dvd-rw, unless it is a real quality brand is enough to kill one.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/735440