Computer Freezes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Belfour20

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
26
Whenever I turn my computer on, at different points during startup my computer just freezes. So it has become unusable. What happened was that it used to freeze sometimes while watching a video or playing a game, but this was very rare. But then it progressively got worse and it started freezing more and more during watching videos, and eventually it started freezing even when I wasn't watching a video. And now its gotten far worse, that I can't even use the computer because it freezes during startup. Also, I tried to disable the video card and see if that was the problem but it continued to freeze.

Does anyone know what the problem could be? I know that it can be many things, but I have been told that it's most likely a hard drive issue. But before I go out and buy a new hard drive, I just want to know if that is what the most likely problem could be.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
306
First, can you tell us the specs of your system?


I have a couple ideas in mind for you to test your hard drive to see if it is, indeed, corrupted or not.
 

Belfour20

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
26
Oh, I can't really remember very well but, I have an Asus motherboard, XP Professional with SP2. Pentium 4, and it was an Maxtor 6E040L0, 40 GB hard drive. I have 512 RAM and my vid. card is ATI Radeon 9100.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
306
Ok.

Are you aware of Linux Live CD's?

Hopefully you are, because I, personally, think they are the best way to see if it is only WINDOWS messing up. It can help you to check all of your hardware and make sure it is all working.
(make sure you're on a computer with a cd-burner... and that you have at least one blank cd-r) (you also have to have an ISO burning software... which you can get here http://www.cdburnerxp.se/help/burniso)
AFTER THAT
go to this website http://www.slax.org/download.php

and download.
Burn the iso file to disc... and now take it to your computer that is malfunctioning. Put the disc in and restart. Enter BIOS and select CD-ROM as first boot device. Restart Again, Let Slax load up... and if it works then your computer is fine! It just means you have a problem with windows. If Slax fails to start up.. let us know.

Hopefully that wasn't too much to put on you right now.
 

Belfour20

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
26
No, not too much, thanks. I'm downloading it right now, i'll let you know what happens after i burn it.
 

Belfour20

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
26
Hey, lol, yea slax is working perfectly, I'm actually using that.
So I guess the problem is with Windows. If I have to format it, can I still save some of my files?
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
306
If slax works perfectly then it is, indeed, windows. You'll have to reformat and reinstall a new copy of Windows...

To save your files.. you could always buy a new hard drive and use the one that you have now as a back up. Or... you can burn data discs with Slax and then have them as backup cds or dvds...
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
That is not necessarily so as XP stresses a system alot more than Linux...can I suggest we first download and run memtest to check the ram? It installs to a floppy disk and you then boot to it and run at least 4 complete tests which can take several hours.
www.memtest.org
 

Belfour20

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
26
Yea, you're probably right. I think the problem is not with just Windows. I've been using Slax the whole day and I've watched many videos and listened to many songs. But my computer froze twice today. Once when I was using Kopete Messenger and another time when I was listening to an audio file.
 

Belfour20

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
26
Ok, so I just left my computer on all night and it did not freeze with slax.
 

Belfour20

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
26
Im reformatting my computer right now. I'll have to go out later to get a CD-R or floppy so I can burn and run the mem test on it.

So, at this point, what can be the causes of my system freezing...hard drive, bad RAM?
 

Belfour20

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
26
But I remember I used to have an overheating problem and when that happened the computer would restart instead of freeze...if it was high temp., wouldn't it just shut down and restart again?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top