1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer Freezing

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Shiven04, Feb 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shiven04

    Shiven04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hi

    My pc starts up then after a few minutes freezes. after i restart it works fine. sometimes i have to restart twice for it to work fine. It does the same thing with all the windows i tried( Windows xp, 7 professional and 7 ultimate). At the moment it is running windows 7 professinal. Also does the same thing with all diff anti viruses. At the moment there isn't an anti virus installed.

    Please Help
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    what are you running
    video card brand and model
    cpu
    m/board
    ram
    power supply
    brand
    model
    wattage

    check the listings in the bios for 12v line voltages and cpu temperatures and post them
     
  3. Shiven04

    Shiven04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hi

    The graphics card is nvidia Geforce 256ram 7300 SE/7200GS
    Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160 1.8ghz
    1Gb Ram
    32 Bit operating System

    CPU Temp 54 degrees Celcius
    System Temp 38 degrees celcius
    CPU Famn speed 2860rpm
    CPU vcore 1.328
    3.3V 3.216V
    12V 12.355V
    5V 5.145V
    3VSB 3.216V

    Power Supply Brand:Aopen
    AC Input 220V/110V 3/5A 50/60Hz
    DC Output 300W
    Dc Output +12V----10A
    +5V---18/8A
    -12V----0.8A
    +3.3V----0/10A
    Model No: ATX3000-58PD

    MSI Motherboard p4m900m3
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,814
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the brand name, model name, and model number of that computer?

    What Windows version came pre-installed in it?

    What source are you using to install Windows XP and Windows 7?

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  6. Shiven04

    Shiven04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Windows vista ultimate came pre installed. I tried windows xp pro and at the moment running windows 7 pro and it does the same thing. Using the original disc to install. The computer isnt just 1 brand. It got msi motherboard; aopen power supply and case. It was custom put together by pc zone. a shop here a while back.

    Thanx I will go and get a new power supply for the pc.:)
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,814
    First Name:
    Frank
    While you're at it, you might want to max it out with RAM.

    It appears that motherboard supports up to 4 GB.

    Windows Vista and Windows 7 need 2 GB or more to run properly.

    It appears to currently have only 1 GB.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    You're dipping a little bit in the 3.3v range (0.084v). Other than that, it looks fine.

    I would highly suggest upgrading your memory, though. 1GB is borderline worthless with that operating system.
     
  9. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    the voltages may look fine but with only 10A output on the 12v line

    the psu is not suitable for pcie system
     
  10. Shiven04

    Shiven04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanx guys. I will certainly upgrade the power supply and ram and let you'll know how it performs afterwards:)
     
  11. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    ok will wait to hear back from you
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088122

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice