Computer Freezing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TwoPluzTwo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
34
It does it randomly and I have no idea why and how to find out why.
I've looked for a solution but I am not very tech savvy so I couldn't find one.
What I have tried so far is:

Checked Reliability Monitor, there are errors there that say Windows shutdown unexpectedly, which is from me holding the button down when my computer freezes.

I've ran check disc from the properties of my C: drive.

I downloaded a program called HWMonitor to check my temperatures but I honestly have no idea what I am looking for and what is considered hot.

Lastly I went into Device Manager and clicked update drivers on everything in there, and it says everything is up to date.

That is all I have tried so far, I would love some help.

Here is my SysInfo:

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 21 Model 1 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 6
RAM: 8189 Mb
Graphics Card: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series, -1 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 464 GB (387 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., GA-970A-D3
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
 

dmccoy

Darrin
Joined
Oct 7, 2017
Messages
4,489
Please do the following steps to give us more details.

Speccy
http://filehippo.com/download_speccy

1. File > Save Snapshot. This will create a file called [hostname].speccy
2. File > Publish Snapshot. This saves your snapshot to our servers
3 Paste the link to your next Reply
 

dmccoy

Darrin
Joined
Oct 7, 2017
Messages
4,489
The main issue I see that needs attention right away is that your hard drive is failing. The S.M.A.R.T. status is showing bad.

The S.M.A.R.T. is a utility that monitors the "health" of the hard drive and reports any potential problems. As an early warning system, it allows the computer owner time to back up any important files before the hard drive fails.

I recommend that you backup either your whole system or any important files you have immediately and look for a replacement. Let me know if you need help with the backup.
 

TwoPluzTwo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
34
The main issue I see that needs attention right away is that your hard drive is failing. The S.M.A.R.T. status is showing bad.

The S.M.A.R.T. is a utility that monitors the "health" of the hard drive and reports any potential problems. As an early warning system, it allows the computer owner time to back up any important files before the hard drive fails.

I recommend that you backup either your whole system or any important files you have immediately and look for a replacement. Let me know if you need help with the backup.
Oh, well that's a bummer...atleast I know now.
I already have everything backed up thankfully. I guess it's time for me to buy that SSD I wanted. If I buy an SSD do I need a HDD as well? I have a 500gb External HDD for movies and photos etc. But can I run a computer soley on a 500gb SSD?
 

dmccoy

Darrin
Joined
Oct 7, 2017
Messages
4,489
No you can just use an ssd, just make sure it is big enough. I recommend at least approx 128GB
 

Paul23

Paul
Temporarily Banned
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
713
Samsung EVO is the best, in my opinion. Get ready to drop 150 bucks.
 

TwoPluzTwo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
34
The main issue I see that needs attention right away is that your hard drive is failing. The S.M.A.R.T. status is showing bad.
You said "the main issue" does that mean there are other problems that you see? Thanks for the help so far I am probably going to buy a crucial 500gb ssd.
 

dmccoy

Darrin
Joined
Oct 7, 2017
Messages
4,489
Nothing major. Start with the hard drive first. I would recommend not using bitdefender antivirus and only use Windows Defender. Also you have an older graphics card so you need to make sure you have the correct driver installed. Are you planing on clon8ng your old drive or performing a new clean install of Windows 10? Clean is always best if you can.
 

TwoPluzTwo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
34
Is using only windows defender okay? I've always been told to download a free antivirus since windows defender is not as good? How do I know if I have the correct driver installed? I checked device manager and it says the driver is up to date. I will definently be clean installing windows 10. I don't really have much on this current hdd anyway except a few games and stuff.
 

dmccoy

Darrin
Joined
Oct 7, 2017
Messages
4,489
Yes it is as good as any antivirus. That use to be the case but not any more. If you want to add some protection you can use the free version of malwarebytes and a good adblocker.

Make sure you download the latest chipset and motherboard drivers from the mfg websites.

I misread your gpu just make sure you download the latest drivers from here.
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows 10 - 64.

If you want to backup your drivers before installing Windows, I recommend the following program.
https://www.techspot.com/downloads/6179-double-driver.html
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top