1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer fully powers/But No Display/Keyboard Mouse

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by fergup, Apr 29, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fergup

    fergup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    I am officially stumped for the first time in 25 years. Been building PC's forever but cant figure this one out.
    Pretty high end PC.z390 Mobo, core i7 8700K, nvidia 2080 TI, full custom loop etc etc. All is within 6 months old.
    Suddently a few weeks ago, pc would fully power on with all Fans, pump, rgb lighting on mobo and display card fully finctioning. all looking and sounding as normal, but the display keyboard and mouse would not power. I replaced cmos battery, still same issue. for ha ha replaced power supply.. new corsair RMX. Ive pulled and re-installed the ram and display card.. worked fine for 1 week, now same issue again. occasionally ill unplug pc and let sit, them plug bck in and it will fully becoome operational. Upon shutting down, and then restart, goes back to same issue.
    So its not the power, its not the battery. does this sound like a failing/failed mobo?

    any suggetions ?
     
  2. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,255
    Failing ram can cause not powering on Try Memtest if you can get it to come on:
    https://www.wikihow.com/Test-PC-RAM-with-MemTest86
    Try with one stick of memory to boot. Graphic card may have a bad solder joint and putting it in and out could have flexed it enough to start working again. If you have a spare card try it, that is the two things you said got it working again. I have a spare HD2400 I use for testing.
     
  3. fergup

    fergup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    I actually never did remove and reinstal the graphics card, so .. but i wil try the RAM idea. Thanks for the TIP, maybe ill buy new ram as well just to test
     
  4. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,255
    OK. in your first post you said " Ive pulled and re-installed the ram and display card.." Try reseating the GPU also.
     
  5. fergup

    fergup Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    whoops my mistake.. one other thing that i believe I ommitted. i do not believe that my post display code is lit up either. I have the MSI pro carbon z390 and i was looking for the post code last night. i dont recall seeing the little screen lit with the code. its dark
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1226433

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice