1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer goes to standyby when the number 9 is pressed

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by plopy, Jun 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. plopy

    plopy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Hello there!

    Im new here so im sorry if im in the wrong place!

    But, whenever i press the number 9 XP goes to standby and number 6 doesnt work, this only happens with the caluclator style buttons on the right not those above the letters. It happens whether num lock is on or off.

    Also when the far left control button is pressed it has the same effect as pressing the start button????

    Anyone any ideas??
     
  2. sgzg_fan

    sgzg_fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    I think the problem is your keyboard, have you tried another one?
     
  3. plopy

    plopy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    I only have the one could i re install it?
     
  4. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    make sure your keyboard is setup for your region and timezone.
     
  5. sgzg_fan

    sgzg_fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    I dont think that reinstalling your keyboard is solving your problem. I think that your keyboard HARDWARE is defect.
     
  6. buddhafabio

    buddhafabio

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,246
    does it do this when you ONLY hit nine and no other keys. or just when ever you hit nine? because it is a hot key and it worked for me when i read your thread topic
     
  7. plopy

    plopy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    It does it only when i hit 9 on its own, only on the calculator style number to the right, the problem seems to be intermitant, last time i turned it on it happened this time its all fine! (i recently got a backdoor.sdbot virus and have removed it if thats any help??)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/140362

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice