1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer has multiple problems.

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Brokenjunk, Mar 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Brokenjunk

    Brokenjunk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    - After each hour of computer, the audio of both videos and music muffles (or gets all static-y) nonstop whenever I move my mouse around. Really screwed up.

    - I frequently have to restart the computer multiple times because the keyboard only works 2 out of 3 times.

    - A lot of buttons don't work well or don't work at all, and sometimes it takes a unusual amount of time for the icon I clicked on to open properly.


    Is my computer infested by a virus, or is it something else? I did the AVG scan and I don't know if reformating or any other solution will help or just be a waste of time.
     
  2. golddust

    golddust

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,241
    Depends on the age of the machine. An older one you upgraded to 8.1 might be on its way out, but I'd try reformatting first just to see. Sometimes you can get a virus that is so embedded reformatting is the only cure.
     
  3. Brokenjunk

    Brokenjunk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    My computer is less than 6 months old.
     
  4. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
  5. Brokenjunk

    Brokenjunk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU J1900 @ 1.99GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 55 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3984 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -2039 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 936627 MB, Free - 846385 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, Aspire XC-603
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    ---
    Windows Defender is off. I don't know from where I can turn it on in Windows 8.
     
  6. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    I can see that the Report shows that WD is disabled. But you can check if this is correct by doing the following:-

    Go to - Control Panel and click on Windows Defender. The Windows Defender window will open and you will be able to determine if WD is active or disabled. If WD is active then click on Settings and make sure that the Tick-Box next to "Turn on real-time protection (recommended) " is ticked.

    You should then run a manual update on WD. Once the update is downloaded and installed run a "Full" Scan. I see that you are using about 90GB of disk space so a Full Scan will take some time - suggest that you allow about 30 minutes.

    Once the WD Scan has completed download the Free version of Malwarebytes from the link below. Install the software and then run a Threat Scan with Malwarebytes.

    https://www.malwarebytes.org/

    In your next post let us know if Malware is detected. If not then we will proceed to the next steps.

    T.
     
  7. Brokenjunk

    Brokenjunk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Okay so I went in control panel, but no matter what I press, WD always says 'This app has been turned off and isn't monitoring your computer, go to security and maintenance yada yada yada'. I found WD in about 50 different places, and every single time the 'open' button is inaccessible or cannot be pressed.

    As far as Malware Bytes is concerned, this thing seems to be working. A total of 15 objects detected. The other thing that has me very concerned is that in the Windows Firewall status, Private Networks is connected but has a red X and cannot be changed, and many options from the side panel can't be switched either.
     
  8. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Are you logged-in as an Administrator..?

    Standard Users are not authorised to change security settings, you need to have Administrator status.

    If you are not sure then go to Control Panel > User Accounts and check the Account Type.

    If you don't have an Administrator Account then you need to create one.

    T.
     
  9. Brokenjunk

    Brokenjunk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    I'm the admin and I'm the only one who uses this computer. No difference. Still can't turn it on.

    But that anti-malware app you linked me seems to be a fine working anti-virus.
     
  10. donetao

    donetao Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
  11. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Are you sure..? Have you actually navigated to Control Panel > User Accounts, clicked on your account and checked that your account does have Administrator status...?

    T.
     
  12. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Hi Brokenjunk,

    ATTN Tabvla - please read the following as well.

    Malware Removal Restrictions

    Only Malware Removal Specialists [​IMG], Malware Removal Trainees [​IMG], and Trusted Advisors [​IMG] are allowed to assist with malware removal of any kind.

    If anyone without these designations offers advice on malware removal do not follow them, and report their post.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Brokenjunk,

    Have you run any "registry cleaners" or "optimizers"?

    Also, if Windows Defender truly is turned off, it's likely your computer is infected but I do not have the authority to help with that. If you like, I can direct you though.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Let also try the following:

    SFC Scannow Windows 8/8.1
    • Go to the Start screen and search for "CMD".
    • Right-click "CMD" and choose "Run as Administrator".
    • In the Command Prompt that appears, type SFC /SCANNOW and hit Enter.
    • Let me know the results of this process in your next post.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Then the following.

    CHKDSK
    • Press and hold the Windows button + R on your keyboard.
    • In the Run box, type CMD and hit Enter.
    • In Command Prompt, type CHKDSK /f and hit Enter.
    • At the prompt, type Y and hit Enter.
    • Reboot the machine.
     
  13. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,246
    Tabvla,

    Please do not ask users to run scans with programs like MalwareBytes as that's part of the malware removal process which can only be performed by our Malware Removal Specialists or Trainees. Thanks for understanding. :)
     
  14. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Noted..... Cody has already given me a smack for that..... :eek:

    T.
     
  15. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,246
    Yabbut his smacks don't count. ;)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144841

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice