1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer has no sound but shows in sound menu

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by HavocBlast, Jul 6, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HavocBlast

    HavocBlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    I just started to have problems on my system where it outputs no sound. I have do some troubleshooting and I still can't figure it out. Note: mic doesn't pickup sound either. I have:

    checked power source to speakers
    checked it was plugged into the correct speaker port
    reinstalled and updated drivers
    the device manager shows the on-board sound card
    speakers work on other computers
    in the playback menu, it shows that music is playing and speaker are the default
    i plugged in USB headset and that works without a problem
    I restarted computer

    I am not sure if I am missing anything. I hope someone else has some sort of idea or knows if I can test if it is a hardware problem.

    System Info:

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3970X CPU @ 3.50GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 45 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 12
    RAM: 20407 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660, 1536 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 2845677 MB, Free - 2627452 MB; D: Total - 13592 MB, Free - 1623 MB; E: Total - 2861588 MB, Free - 2551792 MB;
    Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION, 2ACE
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,400
    First Name:
    Jim
    Sounds like a hardware fault. If it's a desktop computer, try using the other ports (ie: front panel or back panel).
     
  3. HavocBlast

    HavocBlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    I have tried the front port like you asked and that no longer works either
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,400
    First Name:
    Jim
    Then I suspect a hardware fault.
     
  5. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    16,618
    First Name:
    Liz
    Desktop, install a sound card; laptop there are external sound cards that use a USB port.
     
  6. HavocBlast

    HavocBlast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    I bought a card but got the wrong one, I will have an new one tomorrow and see if that works
     
  7. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,400
    First Name:
    Jim
    It shouldn't matter, but you can boot into the BIOS and disable the onboard chipset when you install the new card.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1151171

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice