Computer Help - Freezes then Buzzes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

johnegg

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
4
Hi I am having computer problems and am not sure what needs to be done to fix it.

This just started happening today and what happens is my computer will freeze or go to a black screen and begin to make a loud buzzing noise. At which point I turn it off and restart it and it proceeds to happen again after a few minutes or having it on. Is this a power supply issue or what do I do?

It is an Acer am5630-e5300a with 2 gigs of ram, q6600 quad core processor, and I put in an nvidia 240gt video card.]

Specs:

Mainboard : ACER EG31M
Chipset : Intel G31/G33/G35
Processor : Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2400MHz
Physical Memory : 2048MB (2 x 1024 DDR2-SDRAM )
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce GT 240
Hard Disk : Hitachi HDT725032VLA380 ATA Device (320GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : YXCX QNSD6JO
CD-Rom Drive : HL-DT-ST DVDRAM_GSA-H60N ATA Device
Monitor Type : Acer X203W - 20 inches
Network Card : Realtek Semiconductor RTL8168/8111 PCIe Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
Operating System : Windows 7 Ultimate Professional Media Center 6.01.7601 Service Pack 1 (32-bit)
DirectX : Version 11.00
Windows Performance Index : 5.5 on 7.9
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
What kind of loud buzzing noise?

Is it coming from the speakers or the tower?

Is it a buzz like a bee or an alarm?
 

johnegg

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
4
It's coming from the tower. And I guess it's more of an alarm than a bee sound lol. Not sure how to describe it.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
If it's a very loud alarm, then it sounds like the overheat alarm for your processor.

Beeps/alarms/buzzes, come from lots of places in a computer.
 

johnegg

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
4
I'm running in safe mode right now and it hasn't froze on me yet. Just doing a virus scan with Malwarebytes.

I'm not sure if it is the cpu over heating is there anyway for me to check?

Other than that do you have any suggestions or things I could try?
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Why are you running in Safe Mode?

Launch into Windows normally, then download and install Core Temp.

That program will be able to tell you what the temperature is around your CPU and if it's overheating.
 

johnegg

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
4
It seems to be fine..
Core #0 Min 46 Max 50 degrees Celsius
Core #1 Min 45 Max 49 degrees Celsius
Core #2 Min 39 Max 46 degrees Celsius
Core #3 Min 42 Max 47 degrees Celsius
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Those temperatures should be OK, so no, I don't think it's the processor.

Let's try the RAM:

How To Troubleshoot RAM Modules

I suspect that this is caused by a bad RAM module.

Remove all but one of your RAM modules (leaving the one in the primary slot on the motherboard).

Then try booting up the PC.

Repeat this process until you've figured out which is the bad module.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top