1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer infected with antimalware doctor and possibly more

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by AussieDreamer, Aug 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AussieDreamer

    AussieDreamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Hello,

    My daughter's computer is an XP with service pack 3 and has Kaspersky anti virus. She was downloading some music tracks and an mp3 was not what it seemed. It was like the computer was being bombarded with trojans / viruses for several seconds. Kaspersky seemed to deal with them all either deleting them or quarantining them. However the system was still infected with a virus called antimalware doctor. Now the computer can't boot up normally as it keeps looping. There is a very brief flash of a blue error screen but only for about 1 second so I cannot read it.

    I can get into the computer via safe mode and removed the antimalware doctor virus manually from registry, startup etc. after following some general instructions I found on Google. However, this hasn't helped as we still can't boot other than in safe mode. Maybe there are other viruses lurking. Kaspersky seems to be jamming at about 60% into its full scan. I'm wondering if a virus is doing this too.

    Attached is the hijackthis log. Any help appreciated. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AussieDreamer

    AussieDreamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    14
  3. AussieDreamer

    AussieDreamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    14
  4. AussieDreamer

    AussieDreamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Hello again,

    If someone could help me with my query that would be terrific as my daughter needs her computer for studies.

    Thank you :)
     
  5. AussieDreamer

    AussieDreamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    14
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,253
    First Name:
    Derek
    Delete any existing version of ComboFix you have sitting on your desktop
    Please read and follow all these instructions very carefully

    Download ComboFix from Here or Hereto your Desktop.

    **Note: It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop and run from the desktop and not any other folder on your computer**
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

    • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus and anti-malware real-time protection and any script blocking components of them or your firewall before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results" or stop combofix running at all
    • Click on THIS LINK to see instructions on how to temporarily disable many security programs while running combofix. The list does not cover every program. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
    • Remember to re enable the protection again after combofix has finished
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    2. Close any open browsers and any other programs you might have running
    Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.​
    If you are using windows XP It might display a pop up saying that "Recovery console is not installed, do you want to install?"
    Please select yes & let it download the files it needs to do this
    When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt" for further review


    ****Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall or freeze ****

    Note: ComboFix may reset a number of Internet Explorer's settings, including making it the default browser.
    Note: Combofix prevents autorun of ALL CDs, floppies and USB devices to assist with malware removal & increase security. If this is an issue or makes it difficult for you -- please tell us when you reply. Read HERE why we disable autoruns

    Please do not install any new programs or update anything (always allow your antivirus/antispyware to update) unless told to do so while we are fixing your problem. If combofix alerts to a new version and offers to update, please let it. It is essential we always use the latest version.

    Please tell us if it has cured the problems or if there are any outstanding issues
     
  7. AussieDreamer

    AussieDreamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Hi Derek,

    Thanks so much for your reply. I followed all your instructions and it appears that combofix has solved the problem. System now boots up normally and no more looping. Combofix had detected rootkit activity.

    I notice that in spybot, under the startup programmes, there is still an entry for the "antimalware doctor". It is disabled. I tried deleting it but when I reopen spybot it is back.

    I attach the combofix log just in case there are still some nasties lurking. Would you be able to check it for me.

    I really appreciate your help.

    Fran
     

    Attached Files:

  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,253
    First Name:
    Derek
    you ran combofix twice

    please post the original combifix log

    that will at C:\ qoobox\quarantine\ComboFix2.txt

    there look like a few left overs. lets seee if this will fix them


    Please download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware to your desktop
    from HERE orHERE

    Double-click mbam-setup.exe and follow the prompts to install the program. At the end, be sure a checkmark is placed next to the following:

    Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware. Launch Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware. Then click Finish.

    If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version. Press Update to make sure the latest database is loaded.
    Once the program has loaded, select Perform quick scan, then click Scan.
    When the scan is complete, click OK, then Show Results to view the results.
    Be sure that everything is checked, and click Remove Selected.
    When completed, a log will open in Notepad.
    Please include this log in your next reply.

    It might ask you to reboot to finish cleaning. Please do so. ( Press YES on the alert)
    If you receive an (Error Loading xxxxxxxxxx .dll) error on reboot please reboot a second time . It is normal for this error to occur once and does not need to be reported unless it continues on every boot
     
  9. AussieDreamer

    AussieDreamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Yes, I did run combofix twice because the first time I didn't have the recovery console on the computer and I had to manually download it after the first scan. Then combofix ran automatically again from the beginning that's why I attached that log. Unfortunately I think I've deleted the first log as I can't find it now. ComboFix2.txt is not under the path you gave. There are two folders under "quarantine" called "C" and "registry backups". Do I run combofix again?

    A couple of hours ago when I thought everything had been fixed I ran Kaspersky again and it found and disinfected rootkit.win32.TDSS. ap and cleaned 3 "unknown threat UDS:DangerousObject.Multi.Generic" items. It then hung at 61% completed so it looks like there maybe something still lurking on the computer.

    Here is the log for the malware bytes scan.

    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.46
    www.malwarebytes.org

    Database version: 4417

    Windows 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
    Internet Explorer 8.0.6001.18702

    11/08/2010 3:44:58 PM
    mbam-log-2010-08-11 (15-44-58).txt

    Scan type: Quick scan
    Objects scanned: 142014
    Time elapsed: 6 minute(s), 20 second(s)

    Memory Processes Infected: 0
    Memory Modules Infected: 0
    Registry Keys Infected: 0
    Registry Values Infected: 0
    Registry Data Items Infected: 0
    Folders Infected: 0
    Files Infected: 0

    Memory Processes Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Memory Modules Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Keys Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Values Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Data Items Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Folders Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Files Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,253
    First Name:
    Derek
  11. AussieDreamer

    AussieDreamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    OK. Here are the logs attached. Also, I ran a full scan with Kaspersky again and it went all the way through and didn't pick up any trojans etc etc. So that's an improvement. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,253
    First Name:
    Derek
    that looks ok

    *Follow these steps to uninstall Combofix and the other tools it downloaded to remove the malware*
    * Click START then RUN
    * Now type Combofix /Uninstall in the runbox and click OK. Note the space between the X and the /U, it needs to be there.
    [​IMG]

    This will also purge the restore folder and clear any malware that has been put in there. Now Empty Recycle bin on desktop Then reboot.

    go here http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/index.php?page=3 for info on how to tighten your security settings and how to help prevent future attacks.

    and scan here http://secunia.com/software_inspector/ for out of date & vulnerable common applications on your computer and update whatever it suggests

    Then pay an urgent visit to windows update & make sure you are fully updated, that will help to plug the security holes that let these pests on in the first place
     
  13. AussieDreamer

    AussieDreamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Have followed all your advice, patched the system, updated etc etc :) All appears to be good now. Thanks ever so much for your help!
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/940884

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice