1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer isnt liking games no more

Discussion in 'Games' started by JodeToad, Nov 19, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. JodeToad

    JodeToad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    My computer was working fine but I had a lot of stuff installed like old games I'd never play and stuff and instead of uninstalling them all I thought I'd just reset my pc I'd have a clean slate then ( apart from my personal files). I did this and installed a few games all was fine apart from on sims 4 it would make my screen go black and speakers would make a jarring noise till I force shut down. I thought it was just this game it was doing it with but then some other games started doing it like fortnite. I figured the reset went wrong somehow as these games worked fine previously so I reset again, installed all my drivers and same issue idk what's gone wrong but anyone that could help itd be appreciated! I have windows 10, amd r9 380, Intel i7, msi motherboard, and 8gb ram need and more info just ask x
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,774
    Are you sure? Did you go to your mobo website for the downloads? What OS are you using?
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,137
    First Name:
    Frank
    We need more detailed information about your computer's hardware, so please do the following in it:

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about your computer will appear.
    Return back here, then copy-and-paste its entire text in your reply.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. JodeToad

    JodeToad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8124 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon (TM) R9 390 Series, -1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 930 GB (595 GB Free);
    Motherboard: MSI, H97 GAMING 3 (MS-7918)
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

    Yeah I did
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,137
    First Name:
    Frank
    Clipboard.jpg

    Why are you handicapping your computer with only 8 GB of RAM?
    You should add another 8 GB and run it with 16 GB.

    I hope your computer has a "quality" power supply with sufficient wattage to handle its power-hungry graphics card.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. JodeToad

    JodeToad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Like I said it's never been a problem till I reset it and I've been using my pc years but I looked at power and says 100-240 v 50 -60hz
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,137
    First Name:
    Frank
    What is the brand name and complete model number and wattage of the power supply?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. JodeToad

    JodeToad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Evea supernova 550 GS, model number 220-gs-0550 and its 550 watt
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,137
    First Name:
    Frank
    It has a 5-year warranty and outputs 45 amps on the 12-volt rail.
    I'm not a hardware expert, but I believe your computer should be okay with it. (y)
    Capture.JPG

    I still believe you should add another 8 GB of RAM.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. JodeToad

    JodeToad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Does this mean my hardware isnt causiung the issue ? Also just upgraded to 16gb ram, next day delivery :LOL:
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,137
    First Name:
    Frank
    Is your computer and games running better with 16 GB of RAM?

    I'm not a hardware/gaming expert, so my input here is limited.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1235888

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice