1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer keeps crashing various errors

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Bargainhunterbrown, Feb 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bargainhunterbrown

    Bargainhunterbrown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2160 @ 1.80GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2037 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family, 1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 148 GB (33 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0CU409
    Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled

    My computer keeps crashing. I have gotten various errors IRQ less than, Page_fault_In_nonpaged_area, error 1706 no valid source could be found for Dell Network Assistant. etc. No idea what is going on. Made three zip files for the dumps from the blue screens to attach as well hope that sheds some light. Thank You
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsor

  3. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,189
    Minidump check - in part.
    PHP:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        
    Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************

    Use !
    analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

    BugCheck 1000007E, {c0000005804e1965ba4e7bccba4e78c8}

    Probably caused by ntkrpamp.exe nt!CcPerformReadAhead+47 )

    FollowupMachineOwner
    =
    PHP:
    0kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        
    Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************

    SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M (1000007e)
    This is a very common bugcheck.  Usually the exception address pinpoints
    the driver
    /function that caused the problem.  Always note this address
    as well as the link date of the driver/image that contains this address.
    Some common problems are exception code 0x80000003.  This means a hard
    coded breakpoint 
    or assertion was hitbut this system was booted
    /NODEBUG.  This is not supposed to happen as developers should never have
    hardcoded breakpoints in retail code
    but ...
    If 
    this happensmake sure a debugger gets connected, and the
    system is booted 
    /DEBUG.  This will let us see why this breakpoint is
    happening
    .
    Arguments:
    Arg1c0000005The exception code that was not handled
    Arg2
    804e196bThe address that the exception occurred at
    Arg3
    ba4e7bccException Record Address
    Arg4
    ba4e78c8Context Record Address

    Debugging Details
    :
    PHP:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        
    Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (a)
    An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalidaddress at an
    interrupt request level 
    (IRQLthat is too high.  This is usually
    caused by drivers using improper addresses
    .
    If 
    a kernel debugger is available get the stack backtrace.
    Arguments:
    Arg1005c0036memory referenced
    Arg2
    00000002IRQL
    Arg3
    00000000bitfield :
        
    bit 0 value 0 read operationwrite operation
        bit 3 
    value 0 not an execute operationexecute operation (only on chips which support this level of status)
    Arg4804e4285address which referenced memory

    Debugging Details
    :
    ======
    The minidump files are not telling us much.
    Some reasons for Blue Screens
    New hardware - software installed.
    Device driver - Video driver - corrupted - faulty.
    Faulty Ram - Overheating - Dying hard drive etc.
    ======
    Check for Intel driver updates.
    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/detect.html
    ======
    Run a Mem Test.
    http://www.memtest.org/
    Scroll down to 'Download (Pre-built & ISOs)'
    'Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)'

    Download the ISO file then burn to a Cd.
    Start the Pc using the Cd and run the memory test overnight or for at least 8 passes.

    It is best to run a full scan on individual Ram sticks if you can.
    Or run the test but if any errors are shown - then remove all sticks of Ram - test each Ram stick one at a time and test them in different slots.

    Guide to using Memtest86+
    http://www.wikihow.com/Test-PC-Ram-with-MemTest86
    ======
    Run a hard drive test.
    SeaTools for DOS tutorial - ISO to CD
    http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/201271en?language=en_US
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2017
  4. Bargainhunterbrown

    Bargainhunterbrown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Setup failed:
    [0C90:1604][2017-02-15T08:46:39]i001: Burn v3.10.3.3007, Windows v5.1 (Build 2600: Service Pack 3), path: C:\DOCUME~1\Hilery\LOCALS~1\Temp\{03C95C9B-DDA7-4282-A131-9E7A1EC7329F}\.cr\Intel Driver Update Utility Installer.exe
    [0C90:1604][2017-02-15T08:46:39]i000: Initializing string variable 'LaunchTarget' to value '[ProgramFilesFolder]\Intel Driver Update Utility\DriverUpdateUI.exe'
    [0C90:1604][2017-02-15T08:46:39]i009: Command Line: '"-burn.clean.room=C:\Documents and Settings\Hilery\My Documents\computer fixing\Intel Driver Update Utility Installer.exe" -burn.filehandle.attached=356 -burn.filehandle.self=352'
    [0C90:1604][2017-02-15T08:46:39]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleOriginalSource' to value 'C:\Documents and Settings\Hilery\My Documents\computer fixing\Intel Driver Update Utility Installer.exe'
    [0C90:1604][2017-02-15T08:46:39]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleOriginalSourceFolder' to value 'C:\Documents and Settings\Hilery\My Documents\computer fixing\'
    [0C90:1604][2017-02-15T08:46:39]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleLog' to value 'C:\DOCUME~1\Hilery\LOCALS~1\Temp\IntelĀ®_Driver_Update_Utility_20170215084639.log'
    [0C90:1604][2017-02-15T08:46:39]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleName' to value 'IntelĀ® Driver Update Utility'
    [0C90:1604][2017-02-15T08:46:39]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleManufacturer' to value 'Intel'
    [0C90:0B58][2017-02-15T08:46:41]i000: Setting numeric variable 'WixStdBALanguageId' to value 1033
    [0C90:0B58][2017-02-15T08:46:41]i000: Setting version variable 'WixBundleFileVersion' to value '2.6.2.4'
    [0C90:1604][2017-02-15T08:46:41]i100: Detect begin, 3 packages
     
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,189
    For now run the mem test and hard drive test.

    There may not be any updates from Intel as Win Xp is no longer supported by Microsoft and many hardware/software suppliers.
     
  6. Bargainhunterbrown

    Bargainhunterbrown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    I did the memtest overnight no errors. Will work on the other tests
     
  7. Bargainhunterbrown

    Bargainhunterbrown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    I ran the hard drive test no errors. Any other ideas ?
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,189
    Is this a desktop or a laptop pc?
    If a desktop - did you remove all ram sticks and run the mem test on each individual stick of ram?
    Also did you check ram sticks in different slots, on the motherboard?
    It may pass a mem test with all ram sticks remaining in the pc. But an individual ram stick could still be faulty.
     
  9. DeepthiBhatia

    DeepthiBhatia

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    try to check all the start up errors and kill them and check what all applications are installed and try to uninstall if you found multiple antivirus applications , try to clear %temp%, temp, try to check the task manager and kill unwanted background apps and uninstall them, as above mentioned you many not get the update , try to find a recovery disk and it will fix the drivers problem, you may need to work in safe mode with networking, if it is a blue screen error.
     
  10. Bargainhunterbrown

    Bargainhunterbrown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    I ran malwarebytes and it found 23 pup's got rid of those and everything seems fine. The only problem that is still recurring is on startup: error 1706 no valid source could be found for Dell Network Assistant. It wants me to put a cd in. I don't think I even have a cd. I don't know where to look for start up errors or how to "kill them" Sorry, I have been slow to get back t o this .
     
  11. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,189
    Click on the Start button > then Run > Type
    msconfig
    Under the Start Up Tab.
    Untick Dell Network Assistant

    Apply > Ok > Reboot your Pc.

    The System Configuration Utility box appear on restart - saying changes have been made.
    Tick the box on the lower left and then OK.
     
  12. Bargainhunterbrown

    Bargainhunterbrown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    I went to msconfig and tried to uncheck the box. However, I get a message that says access denied because I have to be an administrator to do that. I am the admin. there is only one other account on this computer and its not an admin account. Also when I first went into msconfig on the general tab it said it was in selective startup. I ticked the bubble and put it back on normal startup and restarted the computer.
     
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    75,703
    That wasn't a good move.
    By switching from selective startup to normal startup, you enabled the ENTIRE startup list.
    You appear to have a Dell Vostro 200 desktop.
    With another 2 GB of RAM, it would be a good candidate for normal use with Windows 7 32-bit or 64-bit.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  14. Bargainhunterbrown

    Bargainhunterbrown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    ok, I went back to selective startup. Are you saying if I add another 2 GB of ram I can upgrade ? Or with the 2 I have I can upgrade ?
     
  15. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    75,703
    It's a good candidate for Windows 7, but it's not cost-effective to do it.
    Spending money for Windows 7 and more RAM would be better spent on a newer and faster refurbished Dell desktop that comes with it already installed.
    There are plenty of them out there in the $200 - $350 price range.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Bargainhunterbrown

    Bargainhunterbrown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Now I keep getting this message- "You have used the system configuration utility to make changes to the way windows starts. The system configuration utility is
    currently in diagnostic or selective startup causing this message to be displayed and the utility to run every time windows starts. Choose the normal startup mode on the general tab to start windows normally and undo the changes you made using the system configuration utility."
    Is there anything I can do about this ? Is this ok? It also gives me the choice of not showing the message again or launch the system configuration utility when windows start. Should I just check mark that box and forget about it ?
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1185356