Computer keeps trying to connect to the internet even though it is connected to

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Alvard31

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
36
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.60GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 1 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 1
RAM: 639 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce2 MX 100/200, 32 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 131061 MB, Free - 22406 MB;
Motherboard: Intel Corporation , D845PT , AAA67834-304 , MY01K5291246521101HS
Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

I get the folowing message even though I am connected to the internet over a wireless network:

Network Connection

You (or a program) have requested information from .... Which connection do you want to use?

Broadband connection

Whats up?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
make and model of PC
make and model of router and modem
how connected to router - wireless / cable


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Alvard31

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
36
Dell Dimension 4400
D-link DIR-615 Router
Linksys WMP110 Wireless Card

It is a wireless connection to a Cable Modem. All computers on the network have internet, this is the only one showing the message.

ipconfig


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : OFFICE
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : cfl.rr.com

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : cfl.rr.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys WMP110 RangePlus Wireless PC
I Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-69-02-FA-D0
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.104
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 15, 2011 12:59:23
AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 22, 2011 12:59:23
AM
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,961
Control Panel - Internet Options - Connections tab - make sure "Never dial a connection" is selected.
 

Alvard31

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
36
It wasn't. I checked it and clicked apply and ok. Still getting the message. Do I need to restart?

Although it does seem a lot less frequent.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,961
I've had that trouble several times in the past with XP. After selecting "Never dial a connection" the attempts to use dial-up gradually decreased and eventually went away. Annoying, and I don't know why they didn't cease immediately.
 

Alvard31

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
36
2 Days later and I haven't seen any additional decrease in the messages. The seem to be centered around Norton and IE. Not sure wether it is related but when I stream video over the net the video is a bit choppy though the audio is fine. Also Yahoo Messenger takes 3-4 times to sign in.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top