Computer lagging/temp. freezing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SpartaSpirit

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
27
Hi all, Past couple days my laptop has been freezing for a good few mins's while running Google Chrome and Bodog. I pulled up my task manager and the commit charge was like 3500/4090 which is really high. I have 70 processes going now, I think that's high but I'm not really sure the right way to go about fixing this and removing what. I cleaned up my temp files, cookies, and history and it hasn't helped. I run Avira, MBAM, SAS regularly and keep my computer clean. I dunno what the problem is. Any help would be appreciated. Windows XP/Service Pack 3 1.8GHz 2GB of RAM Thanks
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Click Start.

In the search bar type msconfig and hit Enter. (for XP users, this goes in the Run box)

Click Startup(tab).

Take a screenshot(s) showing all items listed and attach the image(s) in your next post.

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
You can remove checkmarks from all of the following except:

- avgnt

Click OK.

Reboot the machine.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

You may also want to consider a RAM and/or processor upgrade.
 

SpartaSpirit

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
27
Don't I need to keep things like windows/system32 ect.exe and zone alarm firewall checked?
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Where do you see an "ect.exe?"

And you can keep the check-mark next to zone alarm firewall if you want, I was suggesting removing it for testing purposes.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
You can remove the check-marks from them as well.

After all of this, do you notice any increase in performance?
 

SpartaSpirit

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
27
I'm not really sure if there is a performance difference. I'm going to need a little while to test it out and see. Will get back to ya. Thanks Shooter
 

SpartaSpirit

Thread Starter
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
27
Ok, this is definitely working better. What do I do about the popup I get everytime I bootup now (pic below)? Just click don't show message again? Is it better to use CC Cleaner to manage my start-up items?

Thanks a lot
 

Attachments

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Yes, just place a check mark in that box and click OK.

And you can use CCleaner, but just remember to NEVER use the registry cleaner.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
It doesn't matter to me, but some people claim using 3rd party software is better.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top