1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer mirror screen to tv

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Andr7151, Dec 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Andr7151

    Andr7151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Hello fellas,

    I recently bought a used Asus computer tower and I'm havi g trouble connect it to my 55 roku tv. I bought a vga to hdmi cord and I thought it was as easy as plug and play. I was wrong only message I'm getting on the tv is "no signal-is the device on"

    What can I do to troubleshoot this problem? Please help !!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,297
    It looks like you have the VGA-to-HDMI plugged into your TV's "HDMI 1" port and the error message on the TV screen says it cannot find a signal on "HDMI 2".

    So, either use the TV remote to change the "Input" from "HDMI 2" to "HDMI 1"
    or,
    move the HDMI end of the cable from the "HDMI 1" port to the ""HDMI 2" port.
     
  3. Andr7151

    Andr7151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Yeah I've tried that also but no luck
     
  4. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,297
    Does the computer work okay with a VGA monitor?

    What is the maximum resolution your computer can handle?

    What resolution does the TV need?

    Are you sure the VGA-to-HDMI actually works?
     
  5. Andr7151

    Andr7151 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Hmmm.. ok good now I can start eliminating


    I'll keep you updated thanks
     
  6. SpywareDr

    SpywareDr

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,297
  7. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,896
    First Name:
    Jay
    Currently, What's your power on sequence ?? .... Computer then TV ?? .....
    If all else fails, You might want to try reversing the power on sequence.
     
  8. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,631
    First Name:
    Jim
    I will also add that when using HDMI, the TV will expect a TV spec input signal (ie: 480P / 720P / 1080P ).
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Computer mirror screen
  1. parisflower21
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    271
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1219933

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice