1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer not switching on

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 24565410, Sep 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 24565410

    24565410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Changed a CD ROM Drive and changed a hard drive on my desktop.
    Switched on and nothing started even the computer
    Checked all fuses and plugs from the wall to the computer.
    Checked the fuse in the power unit inside the case.
    Checked all power cables from front on/off switch plugged into correct slots on motherboard
    Nothing
    Monitor is showing power to it so power is getting there
    Help any ideas for next step to fault find

    Just had a thought it could be the on off switch on front off computer, any one know how to test the switch?
     
  2. satanicguardian

    satanicguardian

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    396
    reset your bios, do you know how?
     
  3. 24565410

    24565410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    cannot reset the BIOS if not able to switch on or can I ?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,874
    First Name:
    Rob
    To test the switch you just need to bypass it, use a screw driver to short the two power switch pins on the motherboard.

    To test the power supply to see if its dead short the two pins mentioned in this article: http://www.duxcw.com/faq/ps/ps4.htm

    There's a jumper on the motherboard to clear the CMOS settings, can also be done by pulling out the coin shaped battery.
     
  5. 24565410

    24565410 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    OK will do that in the morning will post once tried the above ok
     
  6. Goldfish92

    Goldfish92

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    923
    Could be power, try removing the new drives and see what happens (make sure to remove the power cords too).

    If it turns on, you know your PSU can not handle them, if not check you haven't knoked any connections during the install of the new drives.
     
  7. 1069

    1069

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,912
    Hi,

    If you added an CDROM and a new HDD then couldn't boot - logically the fault will be with one or both of those ......it would be a very big co-incidence if it were to be the on/off switch.

    Disconnect both from the IDE and power cables so that they are completely isolated.
    Now switch on.

    If this fails...

    Check out the 20 / 24 pin ATX power cable from the PSU to make sure that you have not disturbed this.

    If this fails - take off the M/Board every card, connection, plug-in leaving ONLY the ATX and CPU.
    Switch on - you will (hopefully) get POST beeps ... but this will indicate that your power switch is OK and that the problem lies elsewhere.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/631466

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice