1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Computer only connects to the router wirelessly

Discussion in 'Networking' started by eru777, Dec 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eru777

    eru777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Hello everyone.
    I'm having a weird problem. I can't access the router (by typing 192.168.1.1) if I'm not already connected to the internet wirelessly (by that same router, hilariously)
    I am using windows vista and the router that I am using is a ZTE ZXV10 W300.
    I think it has something to do with software, because I tested the router in another computer and it showed up fine on the url bar. It is also not a network card problem , because I purchased an ethernet to USB adapter a few hours ago to take it out of the equation. Still , when wireless is off, it keeps "identifying" and the loop goes on , and on infinitely.
    I deleted all the old saved connections on my computer, rebooted a thousand times, restored the router to factory settings, did a malware scan. Nothing.
    I then did (as an admin) the following procedures on command line:

    netsh winsock reset catalog

    netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log


    Rebooted after each, nothing. Still can't ping my router when it's connected via ethernet.
    I don't have any antivirus software, disabled all firewalls and even did this check:
    Services are Started:
    COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    Computer Browser
    DHCP Client
    DNS Client
    Network Connections
    Network Location Awareness
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    Server

    TCP/IP Netbios helper
    Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    Workstation

    Just for fun, I even tried starting in safe mode with networking on and the problem persists.

    This is by far the weirdest computer problem I've had for years, and it baffles me how it's even possible.
    I can only guess that somehow, years ago, I figured out how to access the router wirelessly and then forgot how to undo it, since I never had to do it again.

    I am currently making a live CD of ubuntu to test and see if it's an OS problem and I'll keep you updated if it works.

    Any help is appreciated!

    EDIT: Linux CD method didn't work. Still, ethernet connecting directly doesn't work. Wifi still works. I have tried everything.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2015
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. eru777

    eru777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Lethe
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek USB FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-4C-36-03-20
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b947:46e7:6eee:64fb%13(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.100.251(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::1%13
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 318824524
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-BF-C4-D4-00-1A-80-F4-29-9A

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>

    EDIT: I disabled the wireless connection to do this ipconfig test and then re-enabled wifi to be able to post this here, otherwise I wouldn't be able to.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're not getting an IP assigned by the router's Dhcp server. Probably the router's Dhcp server is enabled (but you should double check on that--you could be using static IPs on the other connections you've tested) so the problem is likely a defective cable.

    In addition, the router's ethernet port could be defective if you didn't use the same port when checking with that other computer. Finally, the NIC could be bad or the latest driver is not installed.
     
  5. eru777

    eru777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Okay I feel really stupid. After all this trouble, I noticed I was using the stb port of the router. :oops: I can't believe that all I had to do to fix the problem was switch to a regular, unnamed LAN port.. Terry, thanks anyway.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)

    I would never have guessed that, as I've never had a router with such a port.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1161848

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice