Computer randomly crashes...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Subzero1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
41
For the past three weeks or so, my computer has started to crash quite frequently, already today its probably crashed about 7 times...

I dont know whats causing the problem or how to fix it.

Im using windows XP, SP2.

It seems that it only crashes when im playing a game of some sort, ill be plaiyng the game, with windows messenger, firefox, maybe skype.

When it restarts and loads up, i have to wait 2/3 minuites for a error to pop up, before i can do anything.

This is what it looks like:
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
How much memory (Ram) is installed?

How much memory does the PC have?

To see press Windows Logo key + Pause Break key together
At the bottom of the new screen you will see amount of Ram.

Have you cleaned it out of dust lately.

Does it run hot?

Try this free utility to see how warm your CPU is SpeedFan
 

Subzero1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
41
1.00GB of RAM

it has 80Gig hardrive if thats what you mean by the amount of memory the PC has

70 gig left.



And clean out of dust, you mean open up the computer and just clean it out?
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Yes check the fans to see it they are coated in dust and also check the heatsink on top of the CPU (Processor) as it can get clogged with dust.

Some of your temperatures`are too high....(the ones with the flame beside them).

Also check that all the fans are running.
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
How old is the PC and has it been cleaned out of dust before??
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
4,910
it indicates that application stumbled for whatever reason and Windows used the registry to restart the program. ... Does it happens for a particular application ... u running .. or all the time
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
You can get a can of compressed air from your PC store and blow the dust out ......especially your HeatSink on top of your CPU (Processor)

It could be that also a fan isn't working (Spinning)
 

Subzero1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
41
Okay, thanks for everything


and Devil, it seems to only do it with one application
 

Subzero1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
41
world of warcraft,
but like i said, i have other applications open at the same time, if i run them they're fine, but it when i start playing WoW and using them that it restarts

Thanks devil again.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
17
tsk, tsk running bots, shame on you! not that I care about that but if you realy are I would stop cos it sounds like its corrupting your system. I f you are not and are running lagit software in the background it sounds like a fan on your system may have perrished or the heat sinks have clogged you would need to either replace the dead fan and/or put the case in the care and cruise down to your local gas/petrol station and give it a good blast with tyre air thingy, but make sure the fans are all working first and when you blast out all the dust and dead human skin/animal hair et'c make sure none of the fans can spin.
 

Subzero1

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
41
hrPUFFnSTUFF said:
tsk, tsk running bots, shame on you! not that I care about that but if you realy are I would stop cos it sounds like its corrupting your system. I f you are not and are running lagit software in the background it sounds like a fan on your system may have perrished or the heat sinks have clogged you would need to either replace the dead fan and/or put the case in the care and cruise down to your local gas/petrol station and give it a good blast with tyre air thingy, but make sure the fans are all working first and when you blast out all the dust and dead human skin/animal hair et'c make sure none of the fans can spin.

Nah not botting lol, thanks for the help though
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top