1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer Randomly restarts

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by main568, Dec 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. main568

    main568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hi.
    i have a HP Pavilion a1211n desktop running windows XP. when i play games it will randomly restart. this problem has been happening for a little while now. this problem also happens when i m just using windows. i really need help this problem is verry annoying. any advice will be helpful. if you need any more infor just comment.thanks
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,062
    Hi and welcome.
    Check and post
    TSG System Information Utility - found here.
    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Valuable_links

    If you feel able to..
    Check inside the Pc.
    Turn the Pc off - leave the plug in to maintain the earth.
    Once you have opened the case.
    Touch the metal case to discharge any static.

    Remove any dust - do not use a vacumm cleaner, too much static.
    Check that all fans are free of dust and will rotate.

    Remove Ram - Video cards etc and then Reseat in the slots.
    But first - clean the copper connections of the Ram - Video cards with a pencil eraser.
    If more than one Ram stick - use just one at a time, as a test.

    Put the case back on the Pc - and see if it will boot to the desktop.

    Also check for overheating
    Download - Speccy
    http://www.piriform.com/speccy
     
  3. main568

    main568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    thanks i will try this soon. but will cleaning the RAM and video cards with an eraser damage them?
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,062
    No - carefully cleaning the copper coloured connectors, will do no harm.
     
  5. main568

    main568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I think it is hardware faileur. i have some minidumps if anyone can read them and tell me what the problem is that will be greatly appricated
     

    Attached Files:

  6. main568

    main568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Also here are my system specs
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+, x86 Family 15 Model 47 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 958 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 Series, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 230769 MB, Free - 186589 MB; D: Total - 7680 MB, Free - 1702 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTek Computer INC., Amberine M
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled


    my cpu temp is usally around 35-40 degrees celcius (around 90 ferinight) is this high?
     
  7. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,062
    Both minidumps showing as Hardware errors.
    One listed is javaw.exe
    javaw.exe relates to Java from Sun Microsystems, Inc..*

    But the bug test lists many hardware errors - relating to the Bios and other Hardware.
    I'd first run a Hard drive manufacturers test.
    You download ISO file - burn to a Cd - boot from the Cd to run the tests.

    http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287

    But save all your needed data and file etc asap - externally - in case the hard drive dies on you.
    Your CPU temp looks Ok.
     
  8. main568

    main568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    thank you i will run the tests soon. my computer usally crashes when i play minecraft and that runs on jave so that would explain that. do you think that its my computer overheating? or mabye my psu is going? Thanks.
     
  9. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,062
  10. main568

    main568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Could you just briefly explain on how to run the test? i will run it as soon as possible
     
  11. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,062
    You need to download the correct Hard Drive Test ISO file for your Installed Hard Drive from the link in my post #7
    Then burn it to a DVD.
    Once the files are on the DVD - start your Pc from the DVD and run the test.
    Your Pc needs to be set to start from the Cd - DVD - it may already be set to do so.
    If not - you need to enter the Bios and set it to boot from the Cd - DVD.
    http://michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm
    Make no other changes while in the Bios - save changes and Exit.

    How to Burn an ISO Image to a Disc - How-To Geek
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/14183/beginner-geek-how-to-burn-an-iso-image-to-a-disc/

    How to successfully burn or write an ISO-image to cd or dvd
    http://iso.snoekonline.com/iso.htm
     
  12. main568

    main568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    my computer is capable of burning things to dvd and cd-roms. i have used it to burn things befour. do i need the other software just to burn the iso? or can i just burn the file normally?
     
  13. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,062
    In that case no other software is needed - burn the ISO files and then boot from the DVD.
     
  14. main568

    main568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    ok thank you. i will run it as soon as i can
     
  15. main568

    main568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Sorry for the wait. but i cant run the tests as soon as i thought. i will try to get them done as soon as possible but they probally wont be done for a little while. i have the orignal ram for the computer so i will try that to make shre it is not a ram problem (i put in the 1gb stick and took out the orignal 2x 256mb sticks (512mb total)) i have a pic of my computer temps in hwmonitor. i am looking a diode2 and that temp looks a bit high, but i dont know where it is... mabye you can help and susjest if i am overheating. i have tried to put a fan next to the computer and it seems to crash less sometimes. thanks for your help it is greatly apprectiad. :)

    i have attached the pic of my temps
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1032074