Computer randomly turns off...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lillawyer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
17
I don't know what got into my pc. It was running fine and then 3 days ago, it started randomly shutting down.
The times when it shut down:

-Just when i started rendering something in sony vegas
-During minecraft

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6700 @ 2.66GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3071 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 300002 MB, Free - 127998 MB; D: Total - 247211 MB, Free - 117505 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P5W
Antivirus: avast! Internet Security, Updated and Enabled

Any ideas why? NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
13
how does the pc shut down?
Does it:
1)randomly powers off
2)randomly shows logging out, saving data etc. screen
3)shows some kind of error
 

lillawyer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
17
It randomly shuts off. No BSOD no reboot. just dead. and then when i try to power it back on, it turns on for 5 seconds then turns itself off again. So what i have to do is take out the power cable and take it out the socket and plug it back in. then it turns on.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,126
Start by swapping in a known good pw supply. Note known good does NOT mean new; it means a pw supply pulled from a working system that you know works.

Next it would help if you posted your exact system specs; "Asus motherboard" does not really tell me very much. What you need to post is as follows;
Exact mb along with version number if used AND bios version you are currently running
Exact ram installed
Exact pw supply, etc, etc.
 

lillawyer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
17
Start by swapping in a known good pw supply. Note known good does NOT mean new; it means a pw supply pulled from a working system that you know works.

Next it would help if you posted your exact system specs; "Asus motherboard" does not really tell me very much. What you need to post is as follows;
Exact mb along with version number if used AND bios version you are currently running
Exact ram installed
Exact pw supply, etc, etc.
Um, it seemed to stop? No idea why...
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
It sounds like a power supply rail is "dropping out" most likely from overheating. With a quad core processor and a 9800 series card you should have a quality brand power supply. minimum about 650 watts with 50-55 amps on the +12v rail.
 

lillawyer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
17
It sounds like a power supply rail is "dropping out" most likely from overheating. With a quad core processor and a 9800 series card you should have a quality brand power supply. minimum about 650 watts with 50-55 amps on the +12v rail.
but it never happened before? so why did it start happening now
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,126
but it never happened before? so why did it start happening now
Why does a rope break? Things wear out AND when you stress any part at or near it's max rating ie your pw supply, it wears out faster.
With an under powered pw supply, you are doing the same thing as driving your car at full throttle all of the time. How long do you think the engine in your car would last if you did that???
 

lillawyer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
17
Why does a rope break? Things wear out AND when you stress any part at or near it's max rating ie your pw supply, it wears out faster.
With an under powered pw supply, you are doing the same thing as driving your car at full throttle all of the time. How long do you think the engine in your car would last if you did that???
ok fair enough, never thought of it that way. thanks
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
OCZ is an OK power supply, what I don't like about the unit you picked is these three items.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341048

#1-The max rated output on the +12v rail is 46 Amps.

#2-The output power is rated at 40°C.

#3-3 Year warranty

This one; http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139020

#1-Max rated output on the +12v rail 53 Amps.

#2-The output power is rated at 50°C.

#3-5 Year warranty

Additional specs;
http://www.corsair.com/power-supply...d-650-watt-high-performance-power-supply.html

If you can afford the Corsair unit, I personally would go with Corsair.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top