1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer randomly turns off...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lillawyer, Nov 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lillawyer

    lillawyer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    I don't know what got into my pc. It was running fine and then 3 days ago, it started randomly shutting down.
    The times when it shut down:

    -Just when i started rendering something in sony vegas
    -During minecraft

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6700 @ 2.66GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3071 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 300002 MB, Free - 127998 MB; D: Total - 247211 MB, Free - 117505 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P5W
    Antivirus: avast! Internet Security, Updated and Enabled

    Any ideas why? NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE.
     
  2. Stiivais

    Stiivais

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    how does the pc shut down?
    Does it:
    1)randomly powers off
    2)randomly shows logging out, saving data etc. screen
    3)shows some kind of error
     
  3. lillawyer

    lillawyer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    It randomly shuts off. No BSOD no reboot. just dead. and then when i try to power it back on, it turns on for 5 seconds then turns itself off again. So what i have to do is take out the power cable and take it out the socket and plug it back in. then it turns on.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,484
    Start by swapping in a known good pw supply. Note known good does NOT mean new; it means a pw supply pulled from a working system that you know works.

    Next it would help if you posted your exact system specs; "Asus motherboard" does not really tell me very much. What you need to post is as follows;
    Exact mb along with version number if used AND bios version you are currently running
    Exact ram installed
    Exact pw supply, etc, etc.
     
  5. lillawyer

    lillawyer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Um, it seemed to stop? No idea why...
     
  6. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    It sounds like a power supply rail is "dropping out" most likely from overheating. With a quad core processor and a 9800 series card you should have a quality brand power supply. minimum about 650 watts with 50-55 amps on the +12v rail.
     
  7. lillawyer

    lillawyer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    but it never happened before? so why did it start happening now
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,484
    Why does a rope break? Things wear out AND when you stress any part at or near it's max rating ie your pw supply, it wears out faster.
    With an under powered pw supply, you are doing the same thing as driving your car at full throttle all of the time. How long do you think the engine in your car would last if you did that???
     
  9. lillawyer

    lillawyer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    ok fair enough, never thought of it that way. thanks
     
  10. lillawyer

    lillawyer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
  11. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    OCZ is an OK power supply, what I don't like about the unit you picked is these three items.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341048

    #1-The max rated output on the +12v rail is 46 Amps.

    #2-The output power is rated at 40°C.

    #3-3 Year warranty

    This one; http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139020

    #1-Max rated output on the +12v rail 53 Amps.

    #2-The output power is rated at 50°C.

    #3-5 Year warranty

    Additional specs;
    http://www.corsair.com/power-supply...d-650-watt-high-performance-power-supply.html

    If you can afford the Corsair unit, I personally would go with Corsair.
     
  12. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027517

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice