Computer refusing HDMI

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

IrakiskHummer

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
6
Hi my computer cant connect to HDMI. I've tried several displays and graphicscards but none seem to work..

The computer havent been started in 2-3 months but worked before

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5
Processor Count: 8
RAM: 12279 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760, -2048 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 119 GB (15 GB Free); D: 931 GB (227 GB Free); E: 0 GB (0 GB Free); F: 465 GB (211 GB Free); H: 1862 GB (1299 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., Rampage III Formula
Antivirus: Bitdefender Antivirus Free Antimalware, Disabl
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
2,679
What is the exact model of your NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760, -2048 Mb and your A benq monitor , Samsung TV ? Is it working at all with other cables , VGA,DVI?
 

IrakiskHummer

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
6
What is the exact model of your NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760, -2048 Mb and your A benq monitor , Samsung TV ? Is it working at all with other cables , VGA,DVI?
Sry wrong graphics card its suppose to be Asus strix GTX 1070 OC 8BG and Benq GL2450 I havent tried ant other cable than HDMI since i hove no other monitor that works with the graphics card.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,425
OK, I see one big issue here. The nvidia 10xx series cards [generally] need a uefi type bios to function. Your motherboard is too old to have a uefi; you have a legacy bios. Sometimes a bios update to the latest available bios works and you are able to install/use a 10xx series card. As I said, sometimes. It really is hit and miss. Since this was a high end motherboard in it's day, you have a reasonable chance of the update allowing you to use the card. If you are not running the latest bios, you can give that a try. IF you decide to update the bios, be sure you read and fully understand the flashing procedure. While a bios update is not difficult, an incorrect flash can render your motherboard unbootable ie junk. Asus has crash free bios, however in my experience, that does not work all of the time.

Note the only way I ever update the bios on an asus board is by using ezflash which is built into the bios. I never update a bios from within windows. Here is a link to the support page for your motherboard;
https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RAMPAGE_III_FORMULA/specifications/
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,425
You do understand that you are going to have to pull the nvidia card and install a card that does work in order to update the bios [if you are not running the latest bios]
 

IrakiskHummer

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
6
You do understand that you are going to have to pull the nvidia card and install a card that does work in order to update the bios [if you are not running the latest bios]
Yep have a working one right now, I will try your idea, but could this be it since this all worked 2-3 moths ago? I havent started the computer for a long time.

And there is no chance my graphics card is damaged in some way?
 
Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,425
No, probably not if it worked previously with the 10xx card. If you do not have the latest bios, you might consider the update however do be sure you fully understand the flashing procedure.

Are you sure the card is fully seated in the slot?
 

IrakiskHummer

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
6
No, probably not if it worked previously with the 10xx card. If you do not have the latest bios, you might consider the update however do be sure you fully understand the flashing procedure.

Are you sure the card is fully seated in the slot?
Fully seated?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,425
Yes, fully seated in the slot. It is not uncommon for a video card to not be fully inserted into the slot.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top