1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer Restarts Automatically/Randomly

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by vietknight, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vietknight

    vietknight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Hello Everyone!

    I've been having some troubles with my computer lately. It has just recently been restarting on me at random times, and I've done some research on what the problem might however still am unable to solve it. There is no warning sign for this problem, it just restarts.

    The computer restarts automatically at anytime, it may be during startup in dos, or in windows login, or even if it makes it, while in windows. I am running WinXP.

    I've t ried to test whether my ram is disfunctional, having two sticks of 256mb, I tried testing each one by one to see whether one was broken or not, however the computer still restarts. This could mean that both 256 sticks are messed or maybe something else is.

    Other symptoms that I have are, if the computer does restart, sometimes it hangs on me during the restart process, and the yellow light appears on the monitor, I'm guessing that means that no signal is being received from the video card (black screen). This happens just after the computer restarts, and it will stay like that for a certain amount of time before actually restarting. This will happen over and over again so it makes me think that its a hardware failure of some sort.

    More info:

    I've tried unchecking that popular setting for "Do not restart computer automatically" if system crashes or something like that in my systems configuration but it hasn't helped.

    If anyone has experienced this before please help me out!

    Thanks In Advance,

    Vic
     
  2. Arcadion

    Arcadion

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,756
    Check for a buildup of dust inside the computer, especially in the RAM and videocard slots. Use compressed air (it comes in cans) to clean it out. Also check for swollen or leaking capacitors on the motherboard.
     
  3. usualsuspect

    usualsuspect

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Does it complain that it has 'recovered from a serious error' when it restarts?
     
  4. vietknight

    vietknight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Nope, sorry it doesn't complain that it has recovered from a serious error when it restarts. The only thing I see different is when it is restarting just before the WinXP loading screen, it asks whether I want to start up in safe mode, safe mode with networking, safe mode with command prompt, or normal startup. It doesn't matter which one I choose, the computer will eventually restart again at a random time.

    Another thing is I've installed speedfan to check out my system temps and it doesn't look like anything is overheating either.

    I'm going to attempt dust out the fans etc...
     
  5. ariestan

    ariestan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    try reboot your os.. maybe it helps
     
  6. vietknight

    vietknight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    It will reboot on its own. I've already tried to restart it manually, when it restarts succesfully, however that didn't work either. Do you mean reboot your OS as in reformat / start fresh? I think that will be the last of my options because the computer has some files on there that I may not be able to recover successfully.
     
  7. usualsuspect

    usualsuspect

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    It's a bit extreme to do a reinstall! A reinstall does not require a format btw - the files will not get lost. However if they are valuable I hope you have them backed-up anyhow?

    Did anything get installed or changed prior to the problems first occurance? Is this an old mobo - it's sounding like it?
     
  8. vietknight

    vietknight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    I'm not sure whether removing one of the system registry keys was due to this (using spybot), but once I get a successful boot going, I'm going to try and replace it. I'm not too sure how old the computer is, but it has a decent cpu speed, 2.3ghz or something like that..so I wouldn't think its that old...although therre WAS alotta dust inside.
     
  9. Soundy

    Soundy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    Sounds like it's overheating... once all the dust is cleared out, make sure all the fans are operating properly as well.
     
  10. vietknight

    vietknight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Hi All!

    I've found the solution!

    I suggest you put this on your list of things to do (if you ever encouter this situation like me).

    I think my problem was I was infected with a blaster virus. I wasn't sure how...but I thought SP2 was suppose to take care of that. Anyways, I tried running system restore, however I did manage to restore to an earlier point, in which the symptoms were still there, but just less (but becoming increasing). So, then my system restore would come out to be a blank screen, it wouldn't even load anymore. I've tried opening IE, however, it kept making shortcuts on my desktop. (and the right click menu only show sup create shortcut, and and some other things other than properties and open. So I checked for windows components to see if I could reinstall IE7 or at least fix it, but it kept giving me some error about adv(something).dll. So, luckily I had opera installed. I searched for IE7 to reinstall and during that installation, it also had the windows malicious software removal tool as well (used for removing blaster viruses etc..) and now I'm here, everything seems to be in working order, the add/remove programs is back up. The windows components is also fixed, it doesn't show any missing dll errors.

    Thanks for all your help/suggestions!

    And remember to add to list:

    Reinstall IE7, or find a another way to run that "Windows malicious software removal tool".

    Cheers,

    Vic
     
  11. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
  12. vietknight

    vietknight Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Hey guys...

    Looks like the problem isn't solved yet.

    I'm looking in my event viewer and I find a couple errors by VirusScan,

    VirusScan Enterprise: The file C:\quarantine\nvid888.sys.Vir.0 is infected with the New RootKit Trojan. No cleaner available, quarantined successfully . Detected using Scan engine version 5200 DAT version 5272.(from MATRIX IP 192.168.2.105 user MATRIX running VirusScan Enter 8.0 OAS)

    VirusScan Enterprise: The file C:\quarantine\cheetahrules.sys.Vir.1 is infected with the New RootKit Trojan. No cleaner available, quarantined successfully . Detected using Scan engine version 5200 DAT version 5272.(from MATRIX IP 192.168.2.105 user MATRIX running VirusScan Enter 8.0 OAS)

    VirusScan Enterprise: The file C:\quarantine\A0071914.sys.Vir is infected with the New RootKit Trojan. No cleaner available, quarantined successfully . Detected using Scan engine version 5200 DAT version 5272.(from MATRIX IP 192.168.2.105 user MATRIX running VirusScan Enter 8.0 OAS)

    VirusScan Enterprise: The file C:\quarantine\A0068801.sys.Vir is infected with the New RootKit Trojan. No cleaner available, quarantined successfully . Detected using Scan engine version 5200 DAT version 5272.(from MATRIX IP 192.168.2.105 user MATRIX running VirusScan Enter 8.0 OAS)

    All of these were detected just before the computer auto-reboots.

    Anyone have any info on it? It seems to be a very rare case, and I couldn't find much information on any of these in google.
     
  13. Soundy

    Soundy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/704787

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice