Computer Restarts for No Reason

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

skywayne

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
6
Hi All,

I have a Toshiba Satellite running Windows Vista. This has been a great computer. I've used it for YEARS without any hiccups whatsoever.

All of the sudden, however, the computer randomly shuts down when I'm in the middle of using it and reboots. When it reboots, I get the message that an improper shutdown occurred, and I'm given the option to start in safe mode.

I have turned off "Automatic Shutdown" (or whatever the option is), and I don't think it's a power problem, as the computer is almost always plugged in when I'm using it.

I found a similar thread on the forum that is closed: http://forums.techguy.org/windows-vista/872866-my-computer-restarts-randomly-no.html

My question is how do I test to see what's going on with this computer? I can't afford another one right now, so I really need to figure this out. FYI, I'm not tech savvy, so I'll need people to be patient with me as I work through your solutions.

Thanks everyone!
 

skywayne

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
6
I'm also pretty sure that it's not spyware or a virus, and I've restored the computer to a time when it had no issues at all. It's also doubtful that overheating is the issue, as I always have it on a special pad that blows air into it when the computer is on.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
3,993
To help us help you,please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread. You can use the TSG Info to fill in your computer information in your user profile as well.

Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
turn off the auto reboot
control panel /system/advanced/startup and recovery settings
then untick the auto reboot box
post any bsod error messages the computer freezes on in full
 

skywayne

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
6
Computer is a Toshiba Satellite A305. Here is the other info:

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 4085 Mb
Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family, 448 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 303735 MB, Free - 146950 MB;
Motherboard: Intel Corp., Base Board Product Name
Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

Auto reboot is off, as dai suggested, but it still shuts down, and I have no idea where to find a bsod error message.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,208
Does it just shuts down or is it restarting?
 

skywayne

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
6
Does it just shuts down or is it restarting?
It restarts, but it doesn't fully reboot. On restart it takes me to a screen asking if I want to start in safe mode, safe mode with networking, etc. If I do nothing, after a few minutes it will proceed to start up normally from there.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,208
After it does one of these restarts, I would close it down in the normal way.
Then start it back up. This may clear out the hiccup.

It is start up in the safe mode which is not what you want, so when you do the second start up, as suggested above, it should NOT go the the Safe mode selection.
 

skywayne

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
6
After it does one of these restarts, I would close it down in the normal way.
Then start it back up. This may clear out the hiccup.

It is start up in the safe mode which is not what you want, so when you do the second start up, as suggested above, it should NOT go the the Safe mode selection.
I've done as you suggested at least 10 times. While the computer will restart normally after I do a shutdown, the whole thing will still randomly blackout and restart while I'm in the middle of working.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,208
Then I would say that you are having a power interruption.
 

skywayne

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
6
Then I would say that you are having a power interruption.
I won't rule that out, but if it's the case, then the interruption is happening somewhere internally, because the battery registers at 100% charge, and it happens even when the computer is plugged in. The way the computer just blacks out is very much like a sudden loss of power, though it always immediately boots back up.

How do I test to see if it is a power interruption, and how can that be fixed?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top