computer running slow +++ after Eset Smart Security install

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Shueygal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
2
I hope I have posted this in the correct area, as this is my first posting. I have just installed Eset Smart Security 3.0.672.0. It found 6 problems, and I was happy about that. Sorry to say, that was this morning. Now my computer is running as slow as the proverbial "paint drying statement." Everything is slow. To make matters worse, I am on dial up, so it is even worse. Even when typing, it is delayed. What is the problem, and how can I fix it. Must confess, I am just a computer beginner, so go slow !
Thanking you in advance.
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,693
First Name
Allan
See if the Eset program put the 6 problems into Quarantine, if it did you could restore them one by one to see if one of them speeds your PC up.
 

atnskyline

Banned
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
332
Hi,
ok i looked at your pc specs. you have a pretty good processor, but the ram, needs to be updated, i suggest you max it out, maybe the eset securicy software needs more ram. was your pc always xp or was it 98 and upgraded.


ok i looked up your pc, you have 800 something mb or ram, you should buy 4 gb of ram to replace it and max it ou. then if you have an older or another pc put the 800 in that.
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,359
First Name
Frank
This is the Gateway support and software site for your Gateway GT4015H Media Center desktop:

http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/R/6140/6140nv.shtml

That desktop comes with 1024 MB of PC3200 RAM. If the system properties window is showing 896 MB, that's because the integrated display adapter has 128 MB dedicated to it(896 + 128 = 1024).

That desktop is capable of supporting up to 4096 MB of RAM, but 2048 MB is more than enough for Windows XP.

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=GT4015H Media Center

-------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm not familiar with Eset Smart Security, so I can't comment on why it's bogging down your desktop.

Can you post a HijackThis log here so we can see what programs are running in the background?

-------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Shueygal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
2
OK, first things first. I discovered that I had inadvertently installed Eset Smart Security for 32 bit, and I have 64 bit. So, I uninstalled the 32 bit version. The computer continues to run slower than before I had installed this program. What gives ? I realize that I could probable upgrade my Ram, but previously my computer just zipped along. It has always been an XP and not an upgraded 98. Here is the hijack log:

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 6:42:07 PM, on 15/09/2008
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16705)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
C:\Program Files\Bonjour\mDNSResponder.exe
C:\WINDOWS\eHome\ehRecvr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\eHome\ehSched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\New Boundary\PrismXL\PRISMXL.SYS
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\dllhost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Call Director\ICD.EXE
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.YOUR-7621F6621D\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.YOUR-7621F6621D\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.YOUR-7621F6621D\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner.YOUR-7621F6621D\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
C:\Program Files\HiJackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = www.google.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_04\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TrojanScanner] C:\Program Files\Trojan Remover\Trjscan.exe /boot
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - Startup: Internet Call Director.LNK = C:\Program Files\Internet Call Director\ICD.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_04\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_04\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {85d1f590-48f4-11d9-9669-0800200c9a66} - C:\WINDOWS\bdoscandel.exe (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Uninstall BitDefender Online Scanner v8 - {85d1f590-48f4-11d9-9669-0800200c9a66} - C:\WINDOWS\bdoscandel.exe (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: {8ad9c840-044e-11d1-b3e9-00805f499d93} (Java Plug-in 1.6.0_04) -
O16 - DPF: {cafeefac-0015-0000-0002-abcdeffedcba} (Java Plug-in 1.5.0_02) -
O16 - DPF: {cafeefac-0016-0000-0004-abcdeffedcba} (Java Plug-in 1.6.0_04) -
O16 - DPF: {cafeefac-ffff-ffff-ffff-abcdeffedcba} (Java Plug-in 1.6.0_04) -
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{4F606C04-BD7D-4092-8675-66215689954B}: NameServer = 204.174.64.1 204.174.65.1
O23 - Service: Apple Mobile Device - Apple, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
O23 - Service: BitDefender Scan Server (bdss) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Softwin\BitDefender Scan Server\bdss.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: Bonjour Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\Bonjour\mDNSResponder.exe
O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: PrismXL - New Boundary Technologies, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\New Boundary\PrismXL\PRISMXL.SYS

--
End of file - 5222 bytes

Sorry for the length of this post, but was trying to answer all the questions as best that I could [feeble at best !!]
Hope some of you great minds can figure this all out.
Once again, thanks for your help.
 

telecom69

Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Messages
9,807
Seems to me that if that program you installed is causing the slowdown then the best thing to do would be to un install it surely? Im not familiar with it at all,its the first I have heard of it in fact,why did you install it? are you using it as an antivirus,firewall or what?

One thing you can try is something I did when I had a slowdown some months back,is to click on tools,then on manage add ons and then disable all the add ons except the Java one/s ,this worked for me .....
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,359
First Name
Frank
The following don't need to automatically load and run:

Click Start - Run, type in MSCONFIG, then click OK - "Startup" tab.

Remove the checkmark from:

NvCplDaemon

Click Apply - OK, but don't restart yet.

Click Start - Run, type in SERVICES.MSC, then click OK.

Double-click on:

Bonjour Service

NVIDIA Display Driver Service

PrismXL


Change the setting from "Automatic" to "Manual", then click Apply. You have to do one at a time.

Close the Services window, then restart your computer.

Place a checkmark in, then click OK when the SCU window appears on the desktop.

-------------------------------------------------------------

I'm not familiar with Trojan Remover, and I question whether it needs to be running in the background and if it's bogging down your computer.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Check the Add/Remove Programs list in the Control Panel and see if you have multiple versions of Sun Java Runtime Environment installed. The current non-beta version is 1.6.0.07.

Download and save the new version, uninstall all older versions, delete their leftover folders from C:\Program Files\Java, then install the new version.

-------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top