Computer runs slow at times as the cpu usage is stuck at 33%

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TooRaw

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
13
I used to be able to run the programs I want to run now with no problems but now my laptop has been running slow and at some times it runs really slow while the cpu usage stays stuck at 33%. This happens while I'm playing games on low settings and the fps drops from 60-140+ to 20 below and sometimes even 5 and below fps. All the while the cpu usage stays at 33% for minutes at a time but once it goes back to normal it fluctuates and my fps go back to normal and the game is playable. I've ran malwarebytes already and done some other stuff to try to fix it. I also have high disk active time at times.


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4500U CPU @ 1.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 69 Stepping 1
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 6027 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 279 GB (86 GB Free); D: 398 GB (304 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., S451LA
Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Disabled
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
2,554
Hi, welcome to the TSG Forums.....:D

In Task Manager could you please open the column "Process Name", this provides different information to the column "Name". Under Process Name you will see a list of .exe files. Click on the CPU column so that the processes that are using most of the CPU time will be located at the top of the column.

When the CPU usage gets "stuck" at 33%, take a Screenshot of Task Manager and attach that to your next Post.

T.
 

Johnny b

John
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
7,115
................... done some other stuff to try to fix it. I also have high disk active time at times.


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4500U CPU @ 1.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 69 Stepping 1
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 6027 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 279 GB (86 GB Free); D: 398 GB (304 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., S451LA
Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Disabled
What other 'stuff' have you done? Anything to do with the registry?

I notice you have your AV disabled. Do you browse online with it disabled?
Do you use a firewall?
 

TooRaw

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
13
What other 'stuff' have you done? Anything to do with the registry?

I notice you have your AV disabled. Do you browse online with it disabled?
Do you use a firewall?
I don't think I've touched the registry yet. AV is enabled not sure why it said it was disabled at that time. I checked again and it said it's enabled now. "Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Enabled and Updated"
Yes I use a firewall.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,603
You have an ASUS VivoBook X451LA 14" laptop which has this Intel processor and Intel graphic device:

cpu.JPG gpu.JPG

It originally came with Windows 8 64-bit, so you must have upgraded it to Windows 10 64-bit.

It comes with 4 GB of non-removable RAM, but it has a DIMM slot for adding another 2 GB or 4 GB or 8 GB of RAM.
Yours appears to have a total of 6 GB or 8 GB of RAM.

--------------------------------------------------------------

We have no idea how you use your laptop, and how well you maintain it and keep it up-to-date, and what's installed and running in it.
Based on that, there could be any number of reasons why it doesn't have the speed and performance you would like it to have.

If you have thoughts about messing with the registry, DON'T!
One wrong major mistake and you can wind up with a non-working laptop.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

TooRaw

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
13
Screenshot (348).jpg Screenshot (349).jpg
Hi, welcome to the TSG Forums.....:D

In Task Manager could you please open the column "Process Name", this provides different information to the column "Name". Under Process Name you will see a list of .exe files. Click on the CPU column so that the processes that are using most of the CPU time will be located at the top of the column.

When the CPU usage gets "stuck" at 33%, take a Screenshot of Task Manager and attach that to your next Post.

T.
Thanks.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,603
Capture.JPG

That's the main reason why your computer has the speed and performance of a turtle.

--------------------------------------------------------------
 

TooRaw

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
13
View attachment 256856

That's the main reason why your computer has the speed and performance of a turtle.

--------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks, I'll try closing some processes and see if that fixes it. I think back when my laptop was running smoothly the # of processes was around the same.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,603
Submit an image of the Task Manager Startup tab.
Make sure the entire list of entries can be viewed so we can see which ones are enabled.

Does that laptop have 6 GB or 8 GB of RAM?
It looks like 6 GB, but I can't tell for sure.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

TooRaw

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
13
Submit an image of the Task Manager Startup tab.
Make sure the entire list of entries can be viewed so we can see which ones are enabled.

Does that laptop have 6 GB or 8 GB of RAM?
It looks like 6 GB, but I can't tell for sure.

---------------------------------------------------------------
I don't have much enabled for startup.
Screenshot (350).jpg
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,603
These startup entries can be disabled from running in the background:
Adobe Acrobat SpeedLaunc...
Adobe Reader and Acrobat...
DivX Update
hpwuSchd Application
Java Update Scheduler


There appears to be a lot of game-related software running in the background.
Since I'm not a gamer, I don't know which ones need to run in the background all the time.

-------------------------------------------------------------
 

Johnny b

John
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
7,115
Hi Frank :)

I've been following this thread and wondered about the first chart.
It's showing 33% cpu usage with a speed of .79 GHz.
That's less than 1/3 it's max speed.

Can power settings have that effect or is it normal?

John :)
 

TooRaw

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
13
Hi Frank :)

I've been following this thread and wondered about the first chart.
It's showing 33% cpu usage with a speed of .79 GHz.
That's less than 1/3 it's max speed.

Can power settings have that effect or is it normal?

John :)
Power settings are on high performance.
 

TooRaw

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2017
Messages
13
These startup entries can be disabled from running in the background:
Adobe Acrobat SpeedLaunc...
Adobe Reader and Acrobat...
DivX Update
hpwuSchd Application
Java Update Scheduler


There appears to be a lot of game-related software running in the background.
Since I'm not a gamer, I don't know which ones need to run in the background all the time.

-------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks, I disabled them. I looked up whether or not the game booster helps. I think I'll disable them too and stop using them to see if it makes a difference.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,603
Having less running processes should help.

You didn't clarify whether your laptop has 6 GB or 8 GB of RAM.

--------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top