1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer Screen Blank/Black

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by reeling, Jul 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. reeling

    reeling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Okay so my computer became unresponsive while browsing the internet multiple tabs. So i was forced to turn it off by pressing the button on the computer. Then when i went to turn it on it will display the sony vaio screen, then the intell pentium processor screen(normal for booth up, both of those), but then it just goes blank. Please, how cna i fix this :(!! Thank you so much!
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Last Known Good Configuration

    • Re start your PC
    • Immediately on startup start tapping F8
    • About every second before the window screens
    • You should see a black screen with white writing
    • Use your arrow keys to select "Last Known Good Configuration"
    • Press Enter
     
  3. reeling

    reeling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Thank you very much for the reply. I did just that. When I got o the screen i went down to last known good configuration. I clicked that but the same exact thing happened. the screen just went blank after i pressed enter.
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Do you know the Make and Model......did you get any discs with the PC?

    Try F8 again but this time try Safe Mode
     
  5. reeling

    reeling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    When I click safe mode, it will start typing a bunch of white letters on the black screen. I think it's called the directories like "lkas\parition1(0)\aslkdf\ajks\as.aspx"

    I just made that up but it says a full screen of those on it and now it's stuck there. Its not changing or anything. I reinstalled XP a long time ago so I don't really remember if I got discs with the Cd. The make is Sony and model is Vaio.
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Is this a Desktop......there might be a recovery patition....you might beable to access it by tapping F10 on startup...BUT I YOU CAN ACCESS IT AND IT HAS ONE YOU WILL LOSE YOU DATA

    So looking for the CD would be a good idea first
     
  7. reeling

    reeling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    it's not a laptop it's a desktop :(
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Same.....
     
  9. reeling

    reeling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    i tried pressing f10 and it doesn't do anything.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/842676

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice