1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer screen switches signal sources on its own

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by yonyz, Dec 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. yonyz

    yonyz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Hi,

    I have a Samsung T220P which was used for not very, but was bought a long time ago when it was relatively new.
    Anyway, this happens on two tested computers:
    When the computer is turned on (Win 7), the screen shows some flashing thingy, and it always goes away 5 seconds afterwards and doesn't come back until the next reboot.
    This problem isn't that important, I can live with it.

    The main issue is this: after a few days of having the screen connected to a computer, the screen starts to switch signal sources (Analog and Digital) on its own. It's connected to DVI all the time, so I'm guessing it doesn't get a good digital signal, right? What can be done about it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11 It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,928
    First Name:
    Jim
    Some monitors do this on their own checking for signals. Or it could simply be the monitor is failing.

    Check the setup options. Some monitors have an "auto" mode which is default, but you can often select the input being used.
     
  3. yonyz

    yonyz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    I did try that Setup thingy and changed it to Manual and then manually changed it to Digital but it simply loses that signal and then tries Analog again. It all makes sense, but why would it lose signal in the first place, and can it be fixed?
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11 It's My Birthday!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,928
    First Name:
    Jim
    Then as it's occurring on two different PC's, I'd suspect a hardware fault in the monitor.
     
  5. yonyz

    yonyz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Yeah it certainly has to do with the monitor itself, but can it be fixed?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1081740

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice