1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer shutdown

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by czest568, Jan 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. czest568

    czest568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    :(
    hELP!

    My brother's PC DELL P2 shutdown 5 - 10 sec. during start up....not much time to even enter the CMOS set-up' tried using other PSU, other processor, reseat RAM,check cable connections...even formating the hardisk but still won't Start.

    Got an answer to this?

    Share please!
     
  2. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    So it won't start?
    Sorry, maybe I can't read today.

    Exact problem would be nice, does it start and reboot? Lock up?
     
  3. RLJ1959

    RLJ1959

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Do you have another video card that will fit?
     
  4. czest568

    czest568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    it would only start for just about 5-10 seconds and shuts down.....don't know what's wrong.. i tried to reseat the video card and sound card to no availl... even tried to change the CMOS battery but still the same..what else is there to do? :confused:
     
  5. msgtgumby

    msgtgumby

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    514
    Unhook everything but the cpu, psu, ram, and video card. Does it post okay or still shut itself off?
     
  6. czest568

    czest568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    :confused:yeah i tried....still the same'
     
  7. msgtgumby

    msgtgumby

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    514
    My guess would be PSU or ram, have any you can swap in?
     
  8. Blfalcon

    Blfalcon

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Try clearing the cmos via jumper pin or taking out the battery for 30 min or change battery
     
  9. czest568

    czest568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    i've tried swapping another RAM, it doesn't turn off but there's no display on the monitor... what else should i do? i've already tried using another battery..
     
  10. Swiper

    Swiper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,230
    Perhaps your heatsink / fan is not securely mounted to your CPU thus
    after about 5-10 seconds it is overheating and shutting off to prevent damage to itself.

    is the heatsink clean of all the dustbunnies that gather up in there ??
     
  11. czest568

    czest568 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    YEAH ITS CLEAN.....STILL SHUTDOWN' anything else? i tried refreshing memory card, sound card,video card but i still have the same problem....
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/433744

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice