1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer so slow, won't connect to internet HJT log included...

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Luke101, Jan 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Luke101

    Luke101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    181
    Hey guys, my brothers computer is playing up, its so slow takes half an hour to move the mouse anywhere, also when he tries to connect to the internet it says 'can't detect dial tone' and there is a dial tone. I have made sure that everything is plugged in properly and that the modem line is working.
    Apparantly he could detect to the internet fine, and the next day this problem just occured, without making any system changes (that he knew of) or installing new software etc.
    Any ideas? Here is his HJT log:

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 16:46:59, on 29/01/07
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\AVSYNMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\RAPIDBLASTER\RB32.EXE
    C:\SBPCI\CTMIX32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\DIAMOND\INCONTROL TOOLS 99\DMHKEY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\WEBSCANX.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://ws1.appswebservice.com/index.php?tpid=10244&ttid=104
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,SearchURL = http://www.jethomepage.com/ie/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.freeserve.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Freeserve
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080;ftp=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080
    R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
    N1 - Netscape 4: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "http://www.cis.strath.ac.uk"); (C:\Program Files\Netscape\Users\default\prefs.js)
    O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 desktop.kazaa.com
    O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 alpha.kazaa.com
    O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 shop.kazaa.com
    O1 - Hosts: 217.116.231.7 aimtoday.aol.com
    O1 - Hosts: 217.116.231.7 aimtoday.aol.com
    O1 - Hosts: 217.116.231.7 aimtoday.aol.com
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [rb32 ml088e] "c:\program files\RapidBlaster\rb32.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CreativeMixer] C:\SBPCI\ctmix32.exe /T
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [McAfeeVirusScanService] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\VirusScan\AVSYNMGR.EXE
    O4 - Startup: InControl Desktop Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Diamond\InControl Tools 99\DMHKEY.EXE
    O4 - Startup: EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV03.EXE
    O9 - Extra button: AOL Instant Messenger (TM) - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\AIM.EXE (file missing)
    O9 - Extra button: ICQ - {6224f700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - C:\Program Files\ICQ\ICQ.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ - {6224f700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - C:\Program Files\ICQ\ICQ.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Freeserve - {1DDDDAA0-EAE7-11D3-AD17-84525882B440} - http://www.freeserve.net/ (file missing) (HKCU)
    O12 - Plugin for .com/search?hl=en&q=odeon+cinemas+the+quay+help+number+talk+to+an+operator&btnI=I'm+Feeling+Lucky: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .mid: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\PLUGINS\npaudio.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .wav: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\PLUGINS\npaudio.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.freeserve.com/
    O16 - DPF: {D53B810F-6219-11D4-95B6-0040950375E7} - http://62.129.133.7/mt/dialers/on/UK/exe/010028.cab
    O16 - DPF: {75D1F3B2-2A21-11D7-97B9-0010DC2A6243} (SecureLogin.SecureControl) - http://secure2.comned.com/signuptemplates/ActiveSecurity.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9AA73F41-EC64-489E-9A73-9CD52E528BC4} (ZoneAxRcMgr Class) - http://zone.msn.com/binGame/ZAxRcMgr.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B8BE5E93-A60C-4D26-A2DC-220313175592} (ZoneIntro Class) - http://zone.msn.com/binFramework/v10/ZIntro.cab34246.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B38870E4-7ECB-40DA-8C6A-595F0A5519FF} (MsnMessengerSetupDownloadControl Class) - http://messenger.msn.com/download/MsnMessengerSetupDownloader.cab
    O16 - DPF: {15AD6789-CDB4-47E1-A9DA-992EE8E6BAD6} - http://static.windupdates.com/cab/6247971CanadaInc/ie/bridge-c6.cab
    O16 - DPF: {FF3F0F03-0F01-131A-A3F9-08F02B23E0CC} - http://66.117.37.13/dbn1767.exe
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thanks.
     
  2. Luke101

    Luke101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    181
    any takers?
     
  3. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Run HJT again and put a check in the following:

    R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
    O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 desktop.kazaa.com
    O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 alpha.kazaa.com
    O1 - Hosts: 216.40.230.4 shop.kazaa.com
    O1 - Hosts: 217.116.231.7 aimtoday.aol.com
    O1 - Hosts: 217.116.231.7 aimtoday.aol.com
    O1 - Hosts: 217.116.231.7 aimtoday.aol.com
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [rb32 ml088e] "c:\program files\RapidBlaster\rb32.exe"
    O16 - DPF: {D53B810F-6219-11D4-95B6-0040950375E7} - http://62.129.133.7/mt/dialers/on/UK/exe/010028.cab
    O16 - DPF: {75D1F3B2-2A21-11D7-97B9-0010DC2A6243} (SecureLogin.SecureControl) - http://secure2.comned.com/signuptemp...veSecurity.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {15AD6789-CDB4-47E1-A9DA-992EE8E6BAD6} - http://static.windupdates.com/cab/62.../bridge-c6.cab
    O16 - DPF: {FF3F0F03-0F01-131A-A3F9-08F02B23E0CC} - http://66.117.37.13/dbn1767.exe

    Close all applications and browser windows before you click "fix checked".

    Run Panda ActiveScan here

    Once you are on the Panda site click the "Scan your PC" button.
    A new window will open... click the "Check Now" button.
    Enter your Country.
    Enter your State/Province.
    Enter your e-mail address.
    Select either Home User or Company.
    Click the big "Scan Now" button.
    If it wants to install an ActiveX component allow it.
    It will start downloading the files it requires for the scan (Note: It may take a couple of minutes).
    When download is complete, click on "Local Disks" to start the scan.
    When the scan completes, if anything malicious is detected, click the "See Report" button; then "Save Report" and save it to a convenient location. Post the contents of the Panda scan report in your next reply.

    Post a new HiJack This log along with the results from ActiveScan.
     
  4. Luke101

    Luke101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    181
    ok i deleted the the things you said i should, but because it is saying it cannot dected a dial tone i cant go to panda viruscan. there is no hardware problem there is some software setting that is disallowing me to connect to the internet, any thoughts?
     
  5. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Post a new HiJackThis log.
     
  6. Luke101

    Luke101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    181
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 18:22:09, on 15/03/07
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\AVSYNMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\SBPCI\CTMIX32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\DIAMOND\INCONTROL TOOLS 99\DMHKEY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\WEBSCANX.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://ws1.appswebservice.com/index.php?tpid=10244&ttid=104
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,SearchURL = http://www.jethomepage.com/ie/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.freeserve.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Freeserve
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080;ftp=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080
    N1 - Netscape 4: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "http://www.cis.strath.ac.uk"); (C:\Program Files\Netscape\Users\default\prefs.js)
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CreativeMixer] C:\SBPCI\ctmix32.exe /T
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [McAfeeVirusScanService] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\VirusScan\AVSYNMGR.EXE
    O4 - Startup: InControl Desktop Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Diamond\InControl Tools 99\DMHKEY.EXE
    O4 - Startup: EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV03.EXE
    O9 - Extra button: AOL Instant Messenger (TM) - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\AIM.EXE (file missing)
    O9 - Extra button: ICQ - {6224f700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - C:\Program Files\ICQ\ICQ.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ - {6224f700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - C:\Program Files\ICQ\ICQ.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Freeserve - {1DDDDAA0-EAE7-11D3-AD17-84525882B440} - http://www.freeserve.net/ (file missing) (HKCU)
    O12 - Plugin for .com/search?hl=en&q=odeon+cinemas+the+quay+help+number+talk+to+an+operator&btnI=I'm+Feeling+Lucky: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .mid: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\PLUGINS\npaudio.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .wav: C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\PLUGINS\npaudio.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.freeserve.com/
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9AA73F41-EC64-489E-9A73-9CD52E528BC4} (ZoneAxRcMgr Class) - http://zone.msn.com/binGame/ZAxRcMgr.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B8BE5E93-A60C-4D26-A2DC-220313175592} (ZoneIntro Class) - http://zone.msn.com/binFramework/v10/ZIntro.cab34246.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B38870E4-7ECB-40DA-8C6A-595F0A5519FF} (MsnMessengerSetupDownloadControl Class) - http://messenger.msn.com/download/MsnMessengerSetupDownloader.cab

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,815
    First Name:
    Frank
    Click Start - Run, type in MSCONFIG, then click OK - "Startup" tab. Remove the checkmark from:

    TaskMonitor

    LoadPowerProfile

    CreativeMixer

    LoadPowerProfile

    InControl Desktop Manager

    EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check

    Click Apply - OK afterwards, then restart your computer.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Open the following TEMP folders:

    C:\TEMP
    (Note: Not all computers have this folder)

    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    then delete all files and folders from inside these TEMP folders.

    Restart your computer again.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    You should update Internet Explorer to 6.0 SP1. You appear to have the original 6.0 version.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Log looks good! (y) Any problems?


    Thanks for your input flavallee!! :)
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,815
    First Name:
    Frank
  10. Luke101

    Luke101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    181
    well its running a little better thanks, but any ideas on how to get it to connect to the internet? It just keeps saying can't detect dial tone.
     
  11. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    This problem can be caused by a number of issues.

    The phone cord could be plugged into the wrong jack.
    Modem damage caused by lightning, have you had any storms while using the computer?
    Have you tried reloading the modem drivers?
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539341

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice