1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Computer Struggling With Using 2 Hard Drives

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Eyeball388, Mar 3, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Eyeball388

Eyeball388 Thread Starter

So long story short, I've tried everything I know to do (Keep in mind I'm relatively new to computers) and when I plug in more than one hard drive, it can't be detected. The only way to have more than one running at once is to wait for windows to boot and as soon as it boots, plug in my SATA cable. Only then do I have 2 hard drives being recognized. I'm not sure what to do about this.

2. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Chuck
    Hello, Eyeball388, and welcome to TSG.

You are leaving out considerable details about the hardware.

Are we safe to assume ...

1) You are talking about a desktop computer.

2) You are talking about two internal HDDs, both of which use SATA connections?

3) Your computer was able to operate normally with one HDD containing a bootable operating system and you are trying to add a second HDD for more storage?

4) Your original drive continues to use the same motherboard SATA header when you add the second drive?

If all of this is correct, have you gone into the BIOS settings to confirm that the original drive is ahead of the second drive in the boot order?

How are you checking that the second drive is not recognized when booting up with both drives? Are you just using Windows Explorer or the disk management control panel?

What version of Windows are you running?

What is the brand and full model number of the second drive?

What is the brand and full model number of the computer and/or the motherboard?

What, if anything, is currently stored on the second drive?