1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer stuck on mobo splash screen and no keyboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by OneFootBazooka, Jan 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. OneFootBazooka

    OneFootBazooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Alright, so my buddy brought over his computer for me to fix. The problem was that when it was booted, there was no display on the monitor in which the cable was plugged into the video card. I plugged in the cable to the onboard video card, got a display. Next was that I could not get past the boot screen. I got an error code "5A" on the intel mobo. So I checked out everything I could, tried resetting the CMOS unplugged everything except bare necessities (memory, mobo, display, fans) but still couldn't get it to work. I then tried swapping the mobo with a brand new Gigabyte one which was compatible with all the parts and it's still not working. Again, I reset the CMOS by taking out the battery for 15 minutes and still nothing. I tried to swap the memory from my computer to his and I don't even get the splash screen. So I'm stumped as to why I'm stuck on the splash screen and my keyboard won't even function so I can't configure the BIOS. PS/2 keyboard btw. And I did try to put the Windows 7 CD in to see if I could boot from that and that didn't work either. I think I've covered all the bases so if anyone has the solution, I'd be pretty grateful.

    Anyway, this is what I've narrowed it down to:

    It's not the HDD, I tested it on my own computer and it shouldn't have anything to do with setting up the BIOS anyway.

    It's not the motherboard, I put in a brand new one just to make sure.

    It's not the keyboard, monitor, or video card as I've tested these out on my own pc.

    It may be the memory, power supply, or cpu.
     
  2. monstermike

    monstermike

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Take out all memory that you can, if multiple modules, then switch modules. If multiple module slots, then switch slots.

    If you can get a USB keyboard, try that. (Not sure how your keyboard is plugged in, though the more variables that you can rotate in this instance the better.)
     
  3. OneFootBazooka

    OneFootBazooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I did what you suggested though I only have 1GB of memory to work with. Tried switching it to each slot, still not working. Tried using a USB keyboard and made sure it was plugged in the rear panel, tried all slots and that won't work either. Thanks for the quick reply though.
     
  4. K7M

    K7M

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    796
    The only thing you left out is the power supply. Try a known good power supply.
     
  5. OneFootBazooka

    OneFootBazooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I was afraid you'd say that..
     
  6. OneFootBazooka

    OneFootBazooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    That didn't work either :<
     
  7. K7M

    K7M

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    796
    Try booting with only the motherboard, Cpu, on board video if so equipped, if no onboard add video card, keyboard & mouse, monitor. Make sure you have all the power connectors connected properly. without memory installed you should get a beep code telling you there is no memory. At this point shut down and install 1 mem chip. watch your boot screen. it should test memory and continue to look for the HD and operating system. You should get an error stating it can't find the operating system or HD. Now add the HD and see what it tells you.
     
  8. OneFootBazooka

    OneFootBazooka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I did exactly what you said, even unplugged fans and didn't get a beep of any sort. I'm not even getting a display on my monitor now. That seems pretty odd to me that I'm not getting beeps.. I'm never going to figure this out haha
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1034156