1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer thinks new hard drive is removable drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Mike69k, Jan 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mike69k

    Mike69k Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    I just put in a 40Gb Hard drive into my computer as a slave drive. My computer recognizes it as a drive, but it shows that it is a removable drive. Any suggestions?
     
  2. qldit

    qldit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,390
    Good Evening Mike, if there is a possibility that drive was previously used as a plug-in you may have to run a program to clean the first cylinder and it is a good idea to cleanup the rest of the drive also.
    This is probably easiest done using and booting from the madboot floppy, (google the name) This is a floppy image you can download and make a boot floppy with a number of technical tools on it.
    You might be better of unplugging your master drive while you run these tools.
    There is a MBR tool and a Fdisk tool and a zero write tool (low level format) which writes zeros to all memory slots, so the drive is sure to be cleared, you can scandisk and do other checks also. It takes a while, leave it run overnight.
    Take care.
    With a bit of luck it may restore your drive to a normal type slave.
    Cheers, qldit.
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,377
    How is the drive connected to the system; is it a sata drive? Some new mb support hot swapping of sata drives. This is why they show up as removable.

    If it is not sata, follow the instructions above.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    My nVidia gForce4 MB shows all the SATA drives as removable, no way to cure it that I'm aware of.
     
  5. saikee

    saikee

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,887
    Cure? A Sata has been designed to be hotplugged and hence a removable device except we don't use it that way,or not just yet.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/435105

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice