1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer trys to turn off randomly

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Samuel3, Feb 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Samuel3

    Samuel3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Hi my computer trys to turn off randomly.. computer is clean cpu is clean so no dust clogging it up.. programs try to close but I have a warning wish to me shut down or not some programs stay up and close..


    The time is random it can be on for 12hours and not try turn off and it could turn off 1 minute then in next 5 mins will attempt to turn off again..


    Why is this?


    Windows 7
    32bit

    Any other info you need?
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,930
    First Name:
    Ron
    To help us help you,please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread. You can use the TSG Info to fill in your computer information in your user profile as well.

    Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
     
  3. Samuel3

    Samuel3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9550 Quad-Core Processor, x64 Family 16 Model 2 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3326 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9300 GE, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 476835 MB, Free - 356655 MB;
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., GA-MA74GM-S2H
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

    Brand is Advent -PQD5002
     
  4. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,930
    First Name:
    Ron
    Download this free program and lets see your voltages. When you run Speccy, click on Motherboard then copy and paste the Voltages. Looks like this....
    Voltage
    CPU CORE 1.152 V
    MEMORY CONTROLLER 2.992 V
    +3.3V 3.296 V
    +5V 5.000 V
    +12V 12.288 V
    +5V HIGH THRESHOLD 4.973 V
    CMOS BATTERY 3.184 V

    http://www.piriform.com/speccy
     
  5. Samuel3

    Samuel3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Voltage
    CPU CORE 1.248 V
    MEMORY CONTROLLER 1.824 V
    +3.3V 3.280 V
    +5V 5.027 V
    +12V 12.160 V
    +5V HIGH THRESHOLD 5.537 V
    CMOS BATTERY 3.120 V
     
  6. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,930
    First Name:
    Ron
    Hopefully one of the Tech's will chime in shortly to help you out. I will try notifying one for you.
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Does the computer restart or simply shuts down completely?
     
  8. Samuel3

    Samuel3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    It wants to shut down. But as firefox it open it comes up with the warning. Force shutdown or cancel I click cancel then load everything back up..
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Make sure all your fans are turning and working properly.
     
  10. Samuel3

    Samuel3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Yes they are
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you post a few of your latest minidump files? They are located in C:\WINDOWS\Minidump. ZIP them and attach them to your next post.

    Right-click the minidump file, select Send To, then select Compressed (zipped) Folder.

    Windows will compress (zip) the file and save the new zipped file in the same location.

    If you get an Access Denied error, disable the UAC.

    If the Minidump folder is empty, you'll need to configure Windows to create minidump files:

    How to Configure Windows to Create Minidump Files
     
  12. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Samuel3:

    What happens in safe mode?

    When did the problem begin?

    Can you relate the onset to the installation or removal of hardware or software; an update to a program or W7 perhaps?

    P 010:
    I have encountered some desktop power supplies with fans that are on demand only. Strange but true. :)

    RF123
     
  13. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    COOL!

    Thanks.

    RF123
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Yeah, I do believe you.
     
  15. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Force shutdown of FF or the computer?

    RF123
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089768

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice