Computer Turns on but no display, then will not turn off

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kingrando

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
1
Ok i have a problem, i recently replaced my mobo in order to use a dual core i have, while installing it, everything seems to go fine, i do not see any loose connections or anything of the sort. So i hooked it all back up and turned it on, then i waited for a couple secs and no display came up, so i tried to turn it off but the power button will not turn it off and the reset button does nothing, i do not know what could be causing this but the cpu is running and everything i just cannot get a display and im hoping i did not fry anything...any ideas what can cause this/ and how to fix it?
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
1,930
k: If you're trying to boot to your original HDD, it won't work with the new mobo.
The HDD is tied to your old BIOS and hardware.
As to why it won't turn off using the Power button, I have no ideas.
I will assume you are using XP.
You will have to reinstall XP from your XP disk-not any Reinstallation disk you may have, that won't work either.
After reinstalling the OS, you will need your new mobo Drivers and Utilities disk to install the Chipset, Audio, Video and network drivers.
Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
58
Flags said:
k: If you're trying to boot to your original HDD, it won't work with the new mobo.
The HDD is tied to your old BIOS and hardware.
What the?

Tied to the old bios and hardware it what way?
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
1,930
Pro: I don't know the reason for it, I just know it can't boot to the new BIOS and hardware.
I'm sure that there are users here that can give you the technical answer, but I'm just talking from experience.
BTW Bummer having your birthday so close to Christmas.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
58
LOL! yeah, real bummer, my dad just ordered my b-day / christmas presents rofl, Foxconn C51 nForce 590, OCZ Reaper 2gb dual channel kit @ 800mhz, Antec Nine Hundred, OCZ GameXStream 700w, gonna put them together with my trusty 4400+ and GeForce 8600GT.


Btw,


I've never haved any problems switching hdd's from PC to PC, o_o.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
1,930
Well, you have now. Let's see how kingrando makes out with this.
I'm betting he has to reinstall windows.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,445
When you change motherboards, you have to reinstall a clean Windows. The hardware is different and part of what made XP so stable, was it's reliance on a minimum of hardware changes. But that doesn't sound like it would have anything to do with reset button and power on and off. My guess is your jumpers for power and reset either aren't correct, or you have the beginnings of a bad power supply.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top