1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer will only boot in safe mode

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Benjovi, Jan 31, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Benjovi

    Benjovi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I am working with Windows XP. Each time I try to log on my computer, it gets stuck on the Windows screens (blue with loading bar going from left to right). It never goes any further. The only way I can log in is in safe mode.

    Previously I could do a System restore to an earlier date which I did about 5 fives, but now, even that does not work anymore!

    My Norton anti-virus has not been updated, could that be the problem? If you ask me if a program was downloaded and is causing problem, with 4 kids using the computer, I could not tell you lol

    Thank you!
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,691
  3. Benjovi

    Benjovi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks, I've already tried the option of Last Known Good Configuration with no results.

    But I will try to updated Norton and I'll see from there.

    Thanks
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,691
    Ok, keep us updated.
     
  5. Benjovi

    Benjovi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Can I upload an updated version of Norton in Safe mode?
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    If 4 kids have been using that computer and have been downloading and installing "who knows what" and have been using unsafe computing habits, there's a good chance it's infected or corrupted.

    Your best option may be to do a clean reinstall of Windows and get a fresh start with it.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Benjovi

    Benjovi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I have thought of that also but I do not have the original disk to install Windows XP.

    Furthermore, will I not lose everything saved on my computer?
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,691
    Try Safe Mode with Networking.
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the brand name, model name, and model number of that computer?

    Yes, a clean reinstall would cause all your personal data to be lost.

    Windows can become corrupted and hard drives can fail.

    That's why it's a good idea to keep your personal data backed up in some reliable external media.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    Try "safe mode with networking" as advised.

    This allows you to start in safe mode and still maintain an internet connection.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Benjovi

    Benjovi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I will start by trying to upload an updated version of Norton in Safe Mode and do a full scan and then try to restart the computer in normal mode.

    Thanks for all your help!
     
  11. Benjovi

    Benjovi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I loaded a new Norton version, did a scan, it found some virus, cleaned them, try to do a normal logging and I am still getting the same problem, stuck on the windows screen!!!!!
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,801
    First Name:
    Frank
    I've only done it in normal mode and not in safe mode with networking, so I'm not sure if you can complete the entire process, but try it anyway.

    Download and save and then install the free version of

    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.70.0.1100

    SUPERAntiSpyware 5.6.0.1014

    Make sure to update their definition files during the install process.

    Make sure to uncheck and decline to install any extras, such as toolbars and homepages, they may offer.

    Make sure to uncheck and decline to use the "Pro" or "Trial" version, if it's offered.

    After they're installed and updated, restart the computer.

    Run a QUICK scan with each of them.

    When each scan is finished, select and remove EVERYTHING they found.

    Restart the computer, if prompted to, so the removal process can finish.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,691
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087696

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice