1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer with low bandwidth - other computer is fine

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by miker1999, Jan 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. miker1999

    miker1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Hello,
    In my home, we use three computers. Two of them are personal desktops and connected directly to our Uverse router through Cat5. They are a little old running Windows XP Home. I have noticed that our internet connection seems to be slow and videos lag a lot. I checked the bandwidth using download.com's bandwidth checker, and they both hang around 9000 kpbs. With Uverse, I have a max package and should be able to get up to 18000 kpbs. Today, I brought home my work laptop which is a new computer with Windows 7. On my home wifi, it was able to get 16000 kpbs. This is a huge difference.

    What could be slowing down my personal, cable connected computers? Can a computer just being old cause this? Could it be an older network card?

    Any advice would be great. Thanks so much.
    Mike
     
  2. dannyn

    dannyn

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,689
    You say they are a little old, just how old? It could be that the have 10meg Ethernet cards rather than 100 or gig.

    Can you go to run and open the CMD. Then type ipconfig /all and copy it here?
     
  3. miker1999

    miker1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Hello,
    Thanks for the reply. They are about 8-10 years old. Here is the info you requested from one of the computers. Thanks for the help. I really appreciate it.
    Mike

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : mikes-desktop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-B1-3F-7A
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 07, 2013 9:01:26 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 08, 2013 9:01:26 PM
     
  4. dannyn

    dannyn

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,689
    Hello,

    That does not seem to be the case in this one. It seems to have a 100meg connection. You know, with them being that old I really just wonder if the computer either 1 needs to be reformatted, or 2 just cannot process data quick enough to achieve those speeds. I would think number 1.

    Dan
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,840
    First Name:
    Terry
    See if this makes a difference ...

    In Device Manager right click on the ethernet - Properties - Advanced tab - for the 'Speed & Duplex' property try '100 Mbps Full Duplex.'

    If the network fails the NIC is no longer capable of 100 Mbps. If speed improves it means the NIC is not auto-syncing properly, but can be used with this setting. If no change then the problem is something else.
     
  6. dannyn

    dannyn

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,689
  7. miker1999

    miker1999 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Hi -
    I followed the directions and was able to change this....unfortunately, it did not make a difference on either computer.

    One of the computers is about 5 years old and I recently reformatted the hard drive, but it is still slow as can be. Any other thoughts?

    thanks so much,
    Mike
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,840
    First Name:
    Terry
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084247

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice