1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer wont boot up propely

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by olryst, Feb 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. olryst

    olryst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    When i boot up my pc it loads for awhile and then before it gets to windows it says Verifying DMI pool data and dosent go any further.
    Can someone tell me how to fix this plz.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  3. olryst

    olryst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    I started the computer with a boot disk but it dident seem to reconise the disk, but the disk and drive work ok on my old computer.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Is the bios recognizing the drive correctly?

    And is there a story behind this problem? Did this drive ever work in this computer?
     
  5. olryst

    olryst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    I brought A new kg7 - Raid motherboard and an AMD athlon xp 2.1ghz processor and 256mb of ddr ram a few days ago and put them togevor in a new case with an old 3.5 floppy drive and a Ultraplex cdrom and two old scsi 3gb harddrives with windows 98 already loaded on them.

    Im not sure if the bios is recognizing the drive correctly

    the disk drive hasent worked on my new computer
    but it works ok on my old computer
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,926
    First Name:
    Rob
    First, i would load bios defaults. Secondly set the boot order to something like A, Cd-rom, SCSI. Third does this board support SCSI or are you using a SCSI add-in card? Fourth, do all your drives have proper id's and is the termination correct. Scsi is not as simple as ide unfortunately.
     
  7. olryst

    olryst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    I am using a scsi add on card, how do you check if the
    drives have proper id's and that the termination is correct.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Did you install the SCSI drivers.....at least I think you need to do that......I had a SCSI card in another machine, and the drivers loaded first.
     
  9. olryst

    olryst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    It dosent seem to reconise the floopy drive and cdrom (they work on my old pc)so i cant load any drivers on to it.
    Could it be that my old 3.5 floppy is to old for my new KG7 - RAID motherboard ?
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Does the bios see the floppy and cdrom?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/119104

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice