1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer won't detect camera

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by J_maNN1349, Jul 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J_maNN1349

J_maNN1349 Thread Starter

Hi
    This is my first time using a digital camera (Sanyo VPC-S600, my operating system is Windows XP), I have plugged it in, and downloaded the software off of a disk(apparently the software that was on the disk has nothing to do with my computer reading the files on the camera.) When I plug it in the Install New Hardware message pops up, I tried installing the hardware (with and without the disk in the drive) and it always says 'hardware not found.' So (as it says in the instruction manual) I simply plugged it in to the USB port and looked in My Computer. A removable disk drive is apparently supposed to appear, and then I can get my pics. No icon has appeared anywhere. So I called Sayno's friendly helpline. The operator had me do everything I had done before (about 20 times) and I still had no luck. He said that there must be a problem with the camera or the USB cord itself. So I returned the camera, brought the new one home and I still have the same problems as I did with the first one.

I also have a Digital Card Reader and when I put my SD card in it my computer says 'this device may perform faster.' But I can't find the device anywhere to take my pics off of the SD card. THe First time I plugged the Digital Card Reader in it also tried to 'Install New Hardware'

I have no idea why my computer won't read any of these devices. It has no problem reading any other hardware through a USB cord (such as my iPOD and other Mp3s.) I have looked at another thread similar to this.....thought some of this might help....