1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Computer won't even power on...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by nadroeg, Jan 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nadroeg

nadroeg Thread Starter

Hey guys,

I'm currently studying for my A+ cert, and I am...or was....using an old HP Pavilion 6630 w/ Win98 SE as my test computer. Well, the computer was in the attic for about 4 months because my parents thought it was broken. I got it down, and saw that the switch on the PSU was somehow switched off :rolleyes:. Problem solved...for a while. So anyway it boots right up, no problems so far. I delete some uneeded junk, run a quick scan with Ad-Aware, and then boot back up in DOS mode to "play around" with the different commands that the book (A+ In Depth) is going over. I forgot now exactly what I did, but I got the error:

"Not ready reading drive A
    Abort, Retry, Fail?"

I chose fail.....computer shuts off. I assume that's what "Fail" is supposed to do. I didn't bother to turn it back on. I just continued reading for about another hour. Well the whole time I'm reading I get an occasional whiff of something like burning plastic :eek:. For some reason I just kept thinking it was nothing and was probably something cooking in the kitchen....lol. I was really engrossed in the book.