Computer won't hard reset

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Steven-C

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
8
I am trying to sell my Acer Nitro 5 and had met someone willing to purchase it. I went to hard reset it and it gave the normal options of wiping all user data from my 2 hard drives, while it was performing it instantly went to 10% and stopped there for 5 hours, the computer went without power while delivering it and it shut off. When I powered it on it all looked the same, it had my background and my account, but when I punched in the pin it said it was invalid, I set a new one through my email and when I went on my account nothing changed, everything was still there. This is where te problem comes in, I tried doing another reset but this time it instantly gave me a prompt saying "There was a problem resetting your PC. No changes were made."
I'm not the most tech savvy and I'm unsure if this problem belongs on this thread so my apologies if it doesn't but I need help, I tried looking this problem up on Google and YouTube, bu the few results it had didn't work.
Please help.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,492
What exactly do you mean by 'hard reset it' ? What did you do ? What do you want to do ?

What version of Windows is it and is it 32 or 64 Bit ?
 

Steven-C

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
8
What exactly do you mean by 'hard reset it' ? What did you do ? What do you want to do ?

What version of Windows is it and is it 32 or 64 Bit ?
By hard reset I mean delete all data from it so it's ready to be sold, its 64 bit and windows 10
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,492
Ok, first check if it's activated with a digital license at Start > Settings > Update and Security > Activation

If it is then you can do a clean install of 10 by downloading the Media Creation Tool and making an install DVD or USB stick with it :- https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

At the start of the install when asked where to install 10 to Delete all the existing partitions then continue the install and 10 will automatically make the partitions it needs.
10 clean install guide here :- https://www.howtogeek.com/224342/how-to-clean-install-windows-10/
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,835
The "Acer Nitro 5" laptop comes in several models, and they all appear to come with Windows 10 Home 64-bit.

What is the exact SNID number and serial number on yours, and which country was it purchased in?

Acer support (U.S.)

--------------------------------------------------------------
 
Last edited:

Steven-C

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
8
Ok, first check if it's activated with a digital license at Start > Settings > Update and Security > Activation

If it is then you can do a clean install of 10 by downloading the Media Creation Tool and making an install DVD or USB stick with it :- https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

At the start of the install when asked where to install 10 to Delete all the existing partitions then continue the install and 10 will automatically make the partitions it needs.
10 clean install guide here :- https://www.howtogeek.com/224342/how-to-clean-install-windows-10/
Is there a video tutorial you can link me to? This is all pretty confusing to me
Also is this going to cost money to fix? Or is it a pretty easy fix?
Thanks
 

Steven-C

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
8

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,492
Ignore the Videos and read at the link I sent in my previous post.

All help has to be done in the Forums so there's is no faster way.
 

Steven-C

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2019
Messages
8
Ignore the Videos and read at the link I sent in my previous post.

All help has to be done in the Forums so there's is no faster way.
I went and put it as the boot priority and I did the steps to install it, it would get done installing and then restart back to the beginning, it did this a few times and now its stuck on a black screen with the word "acer" in green on it, no loading circle or bar, it's been like this for almost an hour
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,492
So it completed the install ? If so do it again but unplug the Usb stick when the computer restarts for the first time.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top