Computer wont loadup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

russ3000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
6
hi, iv jus bought new computer parts to build myself, and i beleive i hav put 95% of the stuff in (havnt plugged in mouse or keyboard) and as i try to turn on the computer, all the fans and stuff come on, but it doesnt even seem to load up, it doesnt even go to any bios and as we turn it on i have long beeps continuesly until we turn it off....

any suggestions of wat to do plz?
 

russ3000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
6
oh yes, jus to let u know, bios -Phoenix D686 and motherboard -winfast 760GXK8MC
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
russ3000 said:
hi, iv jus bought new computer parts to build myself, and i beleive i hav put 95% of the stuff in (havnt plugged in mouse or keyboard) and as i try to turn on the computer, all the fans and stuff come on, but it doesnt even seem to load up, it doesnt even go to any bios and as we turn it on i have long beeps continuesly until we turn it off....

any suggestions of wat to do plz?
sounds like a heat issue, heatsink isnt on right, cpu is overheating

are you getting anything on screen?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
may have to set up out of case, take mb out and place on a piece of cardboard, with cpu/hsf/ram and gfx card
plug intp psu, plug psu into wall socket, board is live so be careful, touch the 2 pins that you had power switch connected to with the tip of a small screw driver to short them together, just for a second until mb starts up if you have no problem, get post beep and screen displays then you had a mounting issue
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
russ3000 said:
nop nothin on screen, wat shud i do to fix the heatsink or watever?
if heatsink is on cpu solid and correct then try out of case setup
 

russ3000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
6
well, i did remove the heatsink from the cpu so, how do i know if it is on correctly and properly?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
also make sure cpu fan is running and is plugged into MB fan header marked cpu_fan or similar
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
russ3000 said:
well, i did remove the heatsink from the cpu so, how do i know if it is on correctly and properly?
what type of cpu? socket what? basically follow direction that came with processer, intel socket 775s can be a bear to get on correctly
 

russ3000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
6
ok ty! ill let u know if ur masterplan works! (fingers crossed) my mates doin it for me, so he mite do it tmoro
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
ok 754 amd, those should be pretty easy, make sure you use thermal pad that came with cpu, or artic silver 5 paste, hook the metal hold down strap over tabs on socket and turn cam lever down, pretty simple
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
russ3000 said:
ok ty! ill let u know if ur masterplan works! (fingers crossed) my mates doin it for me, so he mite do it tmoro
may not be heat, bios beep codes are different, but you are having some problem, try the out of case thing then it can be whittled down from there.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
russ3000 said:
amd athlon 2800+
hey, just built one with an Epox MB, this is when I was testing to make sure, MB/CPU/HSF/RAM would boot, I dont build the whole thing and try because then you end up taking it all apart anyway if theres a problem, just the bare minimum, in fact most times you dont even need the gfx card in to get a post beep
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
5
Hey,

The specifications of his computer are as follows:

AMD Athlon 2800+
1Gb RAM (Pc2700)
Radeon 9800 (Graphics)
Foxconn Winfast 760GXK8MC (Motherboard)
160 Gb Seagate ST3160811AS Barracuda
300 Watt PSU

Everything seems to be connected securely. When the computer is turned on, all lights / fans etc work but the bios beeps like: long beep (2-3 seconds), pause, long beep (2-3 seconds), pause. Continues to beep in this fashion until turned off.

I have removed everything, one by one, just leaving the CPU in place and the beeps are the same.

Any help?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top