Computer wont start & I haven't even installed the OS

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

computerwiz5

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Messages
329
OK, here i am with my windows 98 cd and my maxtor cd and floppy disk.

I listen to the manuel and install the HD then i rebooted and tried to install win 98, it frooze. the next day i tried it again and it still froze.

Then i saw in my bios that the cpu was running on 1200 or somewthin but its a amd 2000+ xp so it should run at 1.67. After it frooze on the inallation i turned it off nad changed the fsb to 133. When i tried it again the comp didnt even boot. I think it the bios and i am king it to the shop today so should i take the battery out nad reset everything.
 

computerwiz5

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Messages
329
well i used the win98 disk off my hp and the cd driver was for the hp so i think that why caused it, maybe. I first attempted to install win 95 then 98. But it froze while i tried to do that. Then i tried it with the win 98 cd it still didnt work iand i did reboot with cd rom support.

I did format the hard drive but not whis fdisk just with the maxtor cd and floppy.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
9,082
When I reinstall the OS after a format I use a "boot disk" not a cd-rom. The cd drive does not get recognized right away. You are prompted when to insert the cd into the drive to continue the install. Is this what you're doing?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
If the disk your using is a recovery disk from the HP, it most likely will Not work as it is made for the hardware and system on the HP.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I don't think that is going to install on your computer either.....these disks that came with certain computers are for THOSE computers.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
1,869
Actually, some of the Gateways came with an OEM full version of windows, not a restore cd. Is the disk labled "for distribution with a new pc only. For product support, contact the manufacturer of your pc." ? It should also say "for pc's without windows" on it. If so, it is a full install version.

Let us know
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top