1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Computer wont start

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by PremixedDoge, Jun 13, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. PremixedDoge

    PremixedDoge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    So my computer will start but nothing will boot up on the monitor. It looks like everything is receiving power to it but after a few seconds it just resets. It does this repeatedly until I turn off the psu. I was wondering if i have a part that's faulty. I'm still pretty new to this so I'm not sure what could cause this. Thank you in advance for any help.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. PremixedDoge

    PremixedDoge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Sorry I forgot to list my specs.
    I7 4790k
    2×8 GB corsair ddr3 ram
    Msi Z97A gaming 7 motherboard
    Valens 80+ gold 600w psu
    GTX 1060 gpu
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2018
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,291
    First Name:
    Allan
    Has it worked ok in the past ? Do you have another PSU you could try ?
     
  5. PremixedDoge

    PremixedDoge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    It has worked fine up until today and I was actually thinking it could be the psu but I don't have another one I can try. I'll look around and try and find one or buy a replacement before anything else.
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,291
    First Name:
    Allan
  7. PremixedDoge

    PremixedDoge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you for the link. I went with the option to build my computer outside of the case and learned that the case was short circuiting the motherboard.
     
  8. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,291
    First Name:
    Allan
    Perhaps you had a standoff in the wrong place, I would check that first. Each standoff should be under a screw hole in the motherboard.
     
  9. PremixedDoge

    PremixedDoge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    The standoffs were all in the right place. I went ahead and got a new case and I haven't had a problem with it yet
     
  10. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    9,291
    First Name:
    Allan
    That's great. :)

    (when you're sure it's fixed please mark this thread Solved with the button at the top of your webpage).
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1211528

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice