Computer wont stay on.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ibobba

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
Ive had this 'new' pc since early September and around the last week and a half its occasionally turned itself off, now the last few days it got more and more regular with it now being itl turn on for about 20 seconds max (wont even reach the windows desktop). An error message does appear just after the mother board screen saying CPU is too hot "press f1 to resume". Ive opened the case and turned it on to make sure the fan is working which it is and it still wont stay on. Any idea's on whats going on? any help appreciated!
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
It sounds as though the CPU heatsink has worked loose and isn't making a good contact with the CPU. You could fix this your self if you don't mind messing with the insides of a PC or you could get someone to do it for you. If you feel that you have the skills to do it your self could you post back with the specifications of the PC with as much info as possible. Maybe a link to where you bought it from if you got it online?

Jack-O-Bytes
 

ibobba

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
It was brought privately, if it matter the fan is a clip fan and 2 of the 4 clips are broke. Also after about it being on for 15 minutes yesterday i check the insides and the CPU and the CPU was untouchable, i picked it up and had to place it down straight away as it was burning my fingers.

I dont mind venturing into my pc :)

Sorry here are mtoher board specs: Asus P6T Deluxe (Its either P6T or P6XT)
PSU is: i7 920
800 watt PSU.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
Do you know what make motherboard you have or what CPU that you have? If you do then I should be able to help you out with this :)

Jack-O-Bytes
 

ibobba

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
Sorry here are mother board specs: Asus P6T Deluxe (Its either P6T or P6XT)
PSU is: i7 920
800 watt PSU.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
If 2 of the push pins are broken then you are going to need either a replacement just like the standard one or, You could go with a much better cooler setup such as this one from newegg

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835186134

If you opt for the standard one then you will have to make sure that it has thermal paste either pre-applied or that you have a tube of good quality thermal paste such as this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100007

If you choose the uprated CPU cooler that I posted it will come with pre-applied thermal paste. All you will need to do is make sure that your CPU is free from the old dry stuff that was most likely applied when the damaged cooler was first fitted.

Jack-O-Bytes
 

ibobba

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
Is it standard that model comes pre-applied paste or is it an offer for newegg? If so ill buy it from ebuyer or currys as im outside of the USA
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
Ahh well I am outside the USA as well I am from England as well. I just naturally presume that people on this blog are from USA lol. Here is the English version;

http://www.ebuyer.com/176157-arctic...o-rev-2-socket-775-1156-1155-1366-ac-frz-7pr2

If you look at the 6th bullet point down under the title "Product Description" you will see that it says "Pre-Applied Arctic MX-2" that is Arctic Coolings best thermal paste so it will do a good job. If you look at the 3rd photo where it shows the base you can see the thermal paste as a thin grey layer. I have used one of these coolers and they are very good. Also they should come with an installation manual as well so you know what your doing to install it :)

Jack-O-Bytes
 

ibobba

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
7
Just ordered it, i never knew it could tell that a heatsink wasn't touching the CPU correctly. Appreciate your fast and efficient help.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
Yeah, Even if they are only slightly off it can cause a world of troubles. And no problem :) This forum has helped me a load so I just help people back. Just curious do you know the make and model of the 800w PSU that you have?

Jack-O-Bytes
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
The reason I was asking is because a lot of people are fooled by high rated power supply's. Atrix is not a great quality brand for PSU's however I have a 650w Atrix PSU and it isn't too bad. Once you get your cooler fixed into place, Feel free to personal message me and I will guide you through how to check the voltages of the PSU to make sure it is working reliably. Sometimes these cheaper PSU's can cause problems later in a PC's life.

Jack-O-Bytes
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top