1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

computer wont turn on!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by smitysmit, Jan 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. smitysmit

    smitysmit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    i have just moved all the parts from my old case to my new one but it wont power on now, i think it might be the f panel connectors as i have a f panel place on my motherboard but i dont know where the wires go.

    here is a screenshot of my motherboard f panel

    http://i1140.photobucket.com/albums/n580/smitysmit1/9256bc4c.jpg
     
  2. illizit

    illizit

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    if they're not labeled on the motherboard then you should try looking in the manual for the motherboard since it's usually labeled in there
     
  3. smitysmit

    smitysmit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    My motherboard came with the co
    Outer pre built
     
  4. illizit

    illizit

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    not sure i understand that last reply but is it a "major" brand?
    if so try searching up the model number of the computer cuz they usually use the same boards
    and if not then the motherboard model number may be written somewhere too although i don't know how common that is.
     
  5. smitysmit

    smitysmit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    It's acer aspire m3800
     
  6. illizit

    illizit

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
  7. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    If you still have the original case, you can trace the wires from the power switch to the Motherboard connector to figure out which goes to what, then connect the corresponding sitchs on the new motherboard accordingly.
     
  8. smitysmit

    smitysmit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    it works now, i didnt put the things in to make the motherboard raised from the case and was probably shorting.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976201

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice