condensing bmp's

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pleasehelpme

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
8
Please help me, i dont know how to condense my *.bmp's to send over email...they have to be uner 1024K but i can never get them that low after scanning them...do you have any suggestions?

:confused:
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
You can zip the file, or load it into a graphics
program and save as a jpg or resize it, or
convert it to 256 colors (MSpaint will do this).

JPG is pretty much the best for size, but you
may lose some quality.
 

pleasehelpme

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
8
Ok well i have tried using winzip, but the only thing with that is if the recepient doesnt have it, they can't unzip it. So, how can i convert my pics to jpeg? i have tried that before but with no success. thanks so much!!
:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
You must have a graphics program that will
save a file in a variety of formats. The program
that (hopefully) came with your scanner should
be able to do this (this is the program that your
picture loads into for viewing after scanning).

Just load the BMP file into the program, click
"File" then "Save As". It should have a "Save
as file type" (or something similiar) dropdown
list. Press the little down arrow and you'll see
if there are any other file extensions available
(jpg, gif, tif, or whatever). Choose JPG (if it's
there), and click "Save" (use a filename you
can remember, mine are just numbered by
default).
 

pleasehelpme

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
8
ok , well it opens up in corel on my computer, and when it opens it says 'invalid file format'. I have tried switching it to open jpegs but it still wont open it. Do you know what im talking about and how to fix that? Thanks!!
:D
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
When you scan a picture, what program
do you first see it in?

I'm assuming it auto loads into something
for your viewing pleasure... :)
 

pleasehelpme

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
8
well i have an HP OfficeJet G Series Scanner, and when i scan a picture it scans into its own OfficeJet screen, not really a photo program. I usually copy the picture and send it to another program because i dont know otherwise...it has always worked before but for the past couple months or so, the pictures that i am downloading are way to big to send over email. Im using hotmAIL, i know that that is the reason i cant send big emails, but still, i would like to know how to downsize them without switching email addresses! would it maybe be because my computer is getting too full? thank you!!
:)
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
If your hard drive was full, you'd be getting
error messages when saving any file.

You mentioned you had no luck saving a file
as a JPG. What program were you trying this
from?
 

pleasehelpme

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
8
no, i was able to save it as a jpeg. Just when i tried to open it, it would open in Corel and say 'invalid file format'. The program i saved it as a jpeg in was the screen from my scanner, the HP OfficeJet G Series screen...:) i saved it on my desktop
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
1,741
If you know where the file is located,
in your browser, click "File", then "Open"
then "Browse". Locate the file and double
click it.

If you don't have a clue where it's at,
right click on the shortcut on your desktop
(you did say you have a shortcut to the JPG?),
click "Properties", then "Shortcut". Copy the
"Target", and paste it in your browser address
window, or use the file/open/browse method
to load it (now that you've seen where it's at).
 

pleasehelpme

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
8
ahhh! it still says invalid file format...i think maybe ill get a freind over here to help me out because its kinda hard over the net!! haha thanks for all your help
:cool:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top